Messrs.

Harney MacDonald (Miss) Nelson Hees (Kingston and Nesbitt Nesdolv Hellyer The Islands) Higson MacInnis Nielsen (Cape Breton-Hollands Nowlan East Richmond) Holmes Nystrom Horner MacInnis (Mrs.) Oberle (Battleford-O'Connor Vancouver Kingsway) Kindersley) Olaussen Howard MacKay Orlikow O'Sullivan Howie MacLean Hueglin Macquarrie Paproski Hurlburt Madill Patterson Jarvis Marshall Peters Jelinek Masniuk Reilly Kempling Mather Ritchie Knight Matte Roche Mazankowski Knowles Rodriguez (Winnipeg McCain Rowland North Centre) McCleave Rynard Knowles McGrath Saltsman (Norfolk-McKenzie Schellenberger Haldimand) McKinley Schumacher Korchinski McKinnon Scott Stackhouse Kuntz Mitges Lambert Morgan Stanfield (Bellechasse) Muir Stevens Lambert Munro Symes (Esquimalt-(Edmonton West) Tétrault Laprise Saanich) Thomas Latulippe Murta (Moncton) Lawrence Neale Towers Leggatt (Vancouver Wagner East) Whittaker Lewis Lundrigan Neil Wise MacDonald (Moose Jaw) Woolliams (Egmont) Yewchuk-138.

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost.

MOTION FOR CONCURRENCE IN VOTE 1b, DEPARTMENT OF NATIONAL REVENUE

Hon. C. M. Drury (President of the Treasury Board) moved:

That vote 1b, in the amount of \$1, of the Department of National Revenue for Customs and Excise—program expenditure in Supplementary Estimates (B) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 1973, be concurred in.

Mr. Speaker: Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion? All those in favour will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

Mr. Baldwin: Mr. Speaker, I rise on a point of order. Before the next vote is put, I would point out that the government has been defeated on a supply motion and should exercise its constitutional responsibility and resign.

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. Is it the wish of the House that the motion be put without the ringing of the bells?

Some hon. Members: On division.

Division

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried on division. Motion (Mr. Drury) agreed to.

• (2230)

MOTION FOR CONCURRENCE IN VOTE 1b, DEPARTMENT OF THE SOLICITOR GENERAL

Hon. C. M. Drury (President of the Treasury Board) moved:

That vote 1b, in the amount of \$209,000, of the Department of the Solicitor General for administration—program expenditures in Supplementary Estimates (B) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 1973, be concurred in.

Mr. Speaker: Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion? All those in favour will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it. And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Is it agreed that the House will proceed with the taking of the vote without the ringing of the bells?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Drury) which was agreed to on the following division.

(Division No. 19)

YEAS Messrs

Cyr Allard Allmand Danson Andras Davis De Bané Basford Beaudoin Demers Basford Douglas Bégin (Miss) Drury Benjamin Dubé Blackburn Dupont Blais Dupras Blaker Duquet Blouin Ethier Faulkner Boisvert Boulanger Fleming Breau Foster Broadbent Fox Buchanan Gauthier (Ottawa East) Caccia Cafik Gendron Caouette Gilbert Gillespie (Charlevoix) Caron Gleave Chrétien Godin Clermont Goyer Corbin Gray Corriveau Grier Côté Guav Cullen (St. Boniface) Guay (Lévis) Guilbault Haidasz Harding Harney Herbert Hopkins Howard Hymmen Isabelle Jamieson Jerome Knight Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Lachance Laflamme Lajoie Lalonde Lang Langlois Laniel La Salle Latulippe Leblanc (Laurier)