MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

THURSDAY, February 25, 1960. (1)

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Colonization met at 10.10 a.m. this day for organization purposes.

Members present: Messrs. Belzile, Boulanger, Cadieu, Campbell (Lambton-Kent), Cooper, Forbes, Godin, Hales, Hicks, Fane, Jorgenson, Knowles, Korchinski, Lahaye, McIntosh, Michaud, Milligan, O'Leary, Pascoe, Racine, Rapp, Smallwood, Stanton, Tardif, Thomas and Tucker—(26).

On motion of Mr. Knowles, seconded by Mr. Tucker, Mr. Stanton was elected Chairman.

Mr. Stanton, upon taking the chair, thanked the members of the Committee for the honour conferred on him and asked for the co-operation of all members in the work of the Committee.

The reading of the Orders of Reference was dispensed with.

On motion of Mr. Fane, seconded by Mr. Rapp, Mr. Jorgenson was elected Vice-Chairman.

On motion of Mr. Thomas, seconded by Mr. Forbes,

Resolved—That permission be sought to print such papers and evidence as may be ordered by the Committee.

Moved by Mr. Cooper, seconded by Mr. Thomas, that the Committee seek permission to reduce its quorum from 20 to 15 members. Motion carried.

Moved by Mr. Forbes, seconded by Mr. Hales, that the Committee request permission to sit while the House is sitting.

After discussion, the motion was approved on the following division: YEAS, 18; NAYS, 6.

On motion of Mr. O'Leary, seconded by Mr. Jorgenson,

Resolved—That a Sub-committee on Agenda and Procedure, comprised of the Chairman and 6 members to be named by him, be appointed.

At 10.33 a.m. the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

MONDAY, May 2, 1960. (2)

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Colonization met at 9.40 this morning, Mr. Stanton, the Chairman, presiding.

Members present: Messrs. Argue, Badanai, Brunsden, Cooper, Doucett, Fane, Forbes, Forgie, Gundlock, Henderson, Hicks, Horner (Acadia), Jorgenson, Kindt, Knowles, Korchinski, McIntosh, Nasserden, Pascoe, Phillips, Rapp, Regnier and Stanton—(23).

In attendance: From Canadian Wheat Board: Mr. A. McNamara, Chief Commissioner; Mr. W. Riddel, Assistant Chief Commissioner and Mr. H. Monk, Q.C., Legal Adviser. From Board of Grain Commissioners: Mr. Roy Milner, Chief Commissioner, and Mr. W. J. MacLeod, Secretary.