THE RENAISSANCE EASTERN EUROPE PROGRAM

Canada's program of cooperation with Central and Eastern Europe has three primary objectives: 1) to promote the transition to a market-based economy; 2) to increase trade and investment links between Canada and the region; and 3) to support democratic development. Canada's cooperation program focuses on 11 priority program countries in Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union: Poland, Hungary, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Romania, Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia were selected from Central and Eastern Europe, while in the former Soviet Union, country programs have been established in Russia, Ukraine and Kazakhstan. These countries were chosen on the basis of their commitment to reform, their relevance to Canadian economic, political, and security interests, and the need to focus limited resources in key countries to maximize impact.

The remaining countries in Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union are eligible for responsive Canadian technical cooperation projects, but do not benefit from country-specific programs. For initiatives that address the common needs of two or more countries, regional technical cooperation programs have been established for Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union.

Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade\Central Europe Division March 1997 26