3. The right of the contracting parties to maintain the regulative procedure for the proper execution of the Conventions concluded among themselves is recognized, provided that such regulative measures are not contrary to the provisions of this Agreement.

ARTICLE 16

Entry into Force and Duration of the Agreement

1. This Agreement shall come into force on the 1st day of October, 1937, and shall remain in force for an indefinite period, each contracting party reserving the right to repudiate it by notice given one year in advance by its own government

2. The ratifications shall be filed in the City of Panama as soon as possible. to that of the Republic of Uruguay. The ratifications shall be recorded and the Government of Panama shall forward a copy of the said record to the governments of the other signatory countries

3. The provisions governing the Parcel Post Service sanctioned by the through diplomatic channels. Madrid Convention on the 10th day of November, 1931, are abrogated from the

date on which the present Agreement becomes effective. 4. The non-ratification of this Agreement by one or more of the contracting

Parties shall not affect its validity for the countries which have ratified it. 5. The contracting parties may ratify this Agreement provisionally, by correspondence, accordingly advising the Administrations concerned, through the

intermediary of the International Bureau, without prejudice to its confirmation through diplomatic channels, in accordance with the legislation of each country

In faith whereof the Plenipotentiaries of the above-named countries have and subject to the approval of their legislature. signed this Agreement at Panama on the 22nd day of December, 1936.

For Argentina: LUIS S. LUTI

11

of ge

ry

rs

on

er

ic

els

el

on

or

en

tal

or

5,

0-

in

he

he

For Ecuador: VICTORIANO ENDARA A. VÍCTOR M. NARANJO

For Bolivia: JORGE E. BOYD

For Salvador: JOSÉ E. ARJONA

For Brazil: LEONIDES DE SIQUEIRA MENESES

JAYME DIAS FRANÇA JULIO SÁNCHEZ PÉREZ

For Canada: PETED T. COOLICAN F. E. JOLLIFFE

For Colombia: ALFONSO PALACIO RUDAS

For Costa Rica: ENRIQUE FONSECA ZÚÑIGA

For Cuba: CARLOS A. VASSEUR

For Chile: SILVERIO BRAÑAS MIGUEL A. PARRA

For the Dominican Republic: MANUEL DE J. QUIJANO For Spain: JOSÉ V. CHÁVEZ JOSÉ ROBERTO MONTERO

For the United States of America: For HARLLEE BRANCH, JOHN E. LAMIELL JOHN E. LAMIELL

STEWART M. WEBER

For Guatemala: TOMÁS ARIAS

For Hayti: ANDRÉ FAUBERT

For Honduras: ALBERTO ZÚÑIGA

For Mexico: JOSÉ V. CHÁVEZ JOSÉ ROBERTO MONTERO