Bill, in consequence of the increase of population in the Province of Manitoba, to give it one additional member; that will be five additional members added to the House. 211 instead of 206. The principle upon which the readjustment of the constituencies is arranged in this Act is to equalize as much as possible the population of Ontario. In consequence of four new members being added, there must be, of course. a locus standi for these additional members. Besides these four members it is proposed to unite the town of Niagara with the county of Lincoln, and also to unite the town of Cornwall to the county of Stormont, leaving six constituencies to be provided for in the Province of Ontario. The arrangement with respect to the additional members will be as follows: The county of Essex, which, as the Census shows, is a county of a large population, is to be divided into two; the county of Lambton, which also has a large population, is to be divided into two; Bruce, which has two ridings, will have an additional electoral district; Middlesex, which has three ridings, will have four; Simcoe, which has now two, will have three; and the county of Ontario, which has two, will also have three. These are the arrangements by which these six additional new constituencies will be provided. I do not propose to enter into minute details as to the different constituencies, because, until the Bill is in the hands of hon. members, and they have the Census before them, they will gather no information by reading the Bill; but I will point out how the principle of representation by population has been applied. Of course, there is not and cannot be a perfect adherence to the principle, pure and simple, of representation by population. In some cases it is impossible to follow strictly that principle, and to provide strictly that all electoral districts shall have the same body of population, but the alterations have been all in that direction. In consequence of the readjustment of so many of the counties there will be a considerable alteration in the arrangement of the different constituencies. I will point out most of them, as I have them in my memorandum. In Cornwall and Stormont the population is the same, and there is no alteration; it is merely joining the towns. Carleton (Ontario) is altered. The population, in 1871, 24,689, is reduced to 20,287, and the reduction will be applied to the adjoining county, the north riding of Lanark. I may men tion that the average population in the different constituencies is about 21,000. The north riding of Lanark is too small according to the average. It had 13,943, and it will be increased to 18,345. So in Leeds and Grenville there is an alteration about the same.

Mr. BLAKE. What is the alteration?

Sir JOHN A. MACDONALD. It is reduced from 12,929 North Gower, Mariboro', March, Huntley and Goulbourn, and the particulars a little later. Brockville, which has a population of 12,514, by the addition of the township of Kitley, will be increased to 15,007. Victoria North, with a population of 13,799, will be increased by the readjustment to 16,540. The whole population of the county of Ontario is 60,809. By the readjustment and the addition of some townships from Muskoka, which has some 27,000, South Ontario will have 20,244; North Ontario, 20,823; and West Ontario, 19,730; the constituencies being thus very nearly equalized. Muskoka, which has 27,204, will have 17,640. East York will be reduced from 23,312 to 22,853. North York, from 24,501, will be reduced to 21,730. The three Simcoes, by the readjustment, will stand as follows: South Simcoe, 22,721; North Simcoe, 26,120; and East Simcoe, 27,185. Lincoln and Niagara, with 26,408, will be reduced to 20,901. Monck, from 17,145, will be increased to 17,380. South Wentworth, which had a population of 14,993 will be increased to 16,229. North Brant, which is now very small, 11,894, will be increased to 17,635. South Brant will be reduced from 21,975 to 20,482. North Oxford, from 25,361, will be to 12,423. I now state the fact generally, and I will give the particulars a little later. Brockville, which has a population

reduced to 24,389. South Oxford will be reduced from 24,732 to 23,133. South Perth will be increased from 20,778 to 21,889. North Perth will be reduced from 34,207 to 26,276. North Wellington will be reduced from 25,870 to 23,082. By some accident the figures have been left out for the three Greys.

Mr. BLAKE. Are the Greys to be changed?

Sir JOHN A. MACDONALD. Yes; slightly. East Bruce will have 22,355; North Bruce, 17,655; West Bruce, 25,618; East Elgin will be reduced from 28,147 to 26,301; West Elgin will be increased from 14,214 to 23,480. The four Middlesexes will stand thus: Centre, or South Middlesex, as I think they are going to call it, 18,889; East Middlesex, 24,552. However, a suggestion has been made to me to-day, that East London, which is really a portion of the city of London, should be taken away from East Middlesex and added to the city, of which it is merely a suburb. West Middlesex will have 19,491; North Middlesex, 19,540; South Huron, which had a population of 27,103 will have 23,042; Centre Huron will be reduced from 26,474 to 22,321; Bothwell, from 27,102 to 22,268; Kent, from 36,626 to 28,112. Essex is divided into two ridings. The population of South Essex will be 22,385, that of North Essex will be 25,659, the division being very nearly the same as for the Local House; and Lambton West will be 24,356, and Lambton East, 18,260. North Norfolk, which is now 17,219, will be increased to 20,869; South Norfolk will be increased from 16,374 to 19,019. Hon, gentlemen will see that alterations on the whole have been in the way of equalizing the population.

Some hon. MEMBERS. Hear, hear.

Sir JOHN A. MACDONALD. No doubt of it.

Mr. MACKENZIE. Equalizing the Tory population.

Sir JOHN A. MACDONALD. No; you cannot equalize a majority.

Mr. CAMERON (Huron). There is no majority.

Sir JOHN A. MACDONALD. Well, we will see. Having made this general statement, if hon. gentlemen wish, I will read the names of the different municipalities composing the constituencies.

Mr. BLAKE. Hear, hear.

Sir JOHN A. MACDONALD. The following are the divisions:-

ONTARIO.

1. The county of Cornwall and Stormont shall consist of the town of Cornwall and the townships of Cornwall, Osnabruck, Finch and Roxboro'.

2. The county of Carleton shall consist of the townships of Nepears, North Gower, Marlboro', March, Huntley and Goulbourn, and the village of Richmond.