ding and the

MEMBERS OF THE CABINET.

(By Seniority of Appointment.)

- 1 The Right Honourable Sir JOHN ALEXANDER MACOONALD, P.C., G.C.B., D.C.L., LL.D., Q.C., President of the Queen's Privy Council, and Superintendent-General of Indian Affairs (Prime Minister.)
- 2. The Honourable Sir ALEXANDER CAMPBELL, K.C.M.G., Postmaster General.
- 3. The Honourable Sir HESTOR LOUIS LANGEVIN, K.C.M.G., C.B., LL.D., Q.C., Minister of Public Works.
- 4. The Honourable JOHN HENRY POPE, Minister of Railways and Canals.
- 5. The Honourable MACKENZIE BOWELI, Minister of Customs.
- 6. The Honourable Sir Adolphe P. CARON, K.C.M.G. Q.C., Minister of Militia and Defence.
- 7. The Honourable ARCHIBALD WOODBURY MOLELAN, Minister of Finance.
- 8. The Honourable JOHN CARLING, Minister of Agriculture and Statistics.
- 9. The Honourable John Costigan, Minister of Inland Revenue.
- 10. The Honourable FRANK SMITH, (without portfolio).
- 11. The Honourable JOSEPH ADOLPHE CHAPLEAU, LL.D., Q.C., Secretary of State.
- 12. The Honourable THOMAS WHITE, Minister of the Interior.
- 13. The Honourable JOHN SPARROW DAVID THOMPSON, Q.C., Minister of Justice.
- 14. The Honourable GEORGE EULAS FOSTER, Minister of Marine and Fisherics.

DEPUTY HEADS OF DEPARTMENTS. (By Seniority of Appointment.)

- 1. WILLIAM HENRY GRIFFIN, Deputy Postmaster General.
- 2. JOSEPH CHARLES TACHE, M.D., D.L., Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Statistics.
- 3. TOUSSAINT TRUDEAU, C.E., Deputy Minister of Railways and Canals.
- 4. WILLIAM SMITH, Deputy Minister of Marine.
- 5. ALFRED RICHARD CECIL SELWYN, F.R.S., LL.D., Director Geological Survey of Canada.
- 6. JAMES JOHNSON, Commissioner of Customs.
- 7. Lt.-Col. CHARLES EUGENE PANET, Deputy Minister of Militia and Defence.
- 8. Colonel WALKER POWELL, Adjutant General of Militia.
- 9. JOHN MORTIMER COURTNEY, Deputy Minister of Finance.
- 10. GEORGE FLEDERIC BAILLAIRGE, C.E., Deputy Minister of Public Works.
- 11. LAWRENCE VANKOUGHNET, Deputy Superintendent General of Indian Affairs.
- 12. JOHN JOSEPH MCGEE, Clerk of the Privy Council.
- 13. GEORGE WHEELOCK BURBIDGE, Q.C., Deputy Minister of Justice.
- 14. GRANT POWELL, Under Secretary of State.
- 15. EDWARD MIALL, Commissioner of Inland Revenue.
- 16. ALBXANDER MACKINNON BUBGESS, Deputy Minister of the Interior.
- 17. FREDERICK WHITE, Comptroller of the North West Mounted Police.
- 18. JOHN TILTON, Deputy Minister of Fisheries.

AUDITOR GENERAL OF CANADA :

JOHN LORN MCDOUGALL (41 Vic., cap. 7.)

HIGH COMMISSIONER FOR CANADA IN LONDON.

Hon. Sir CHARLES TUPPER, G.C.M.G., C.B. (appointed 24 May, 1884), 9 and 10 Victoria Chambers, London, S.W.

Secretary Canadian Government Offices in London-Joseph G. Colmer (address as above.)

Assistant Secretary and Accountant-Clarence C. Chipman.