delicious flavor, and greatest luxuriance of yield. The island is divided into ten parishes, viz:

THE PARISH OF THE CITY OF MONTREAL, which comprehends the City proper, the Côtes de la Visitation, St. Joseph, Notre Dame des Neiges, and St. Pierre, together with parts of St. Paul and St. Catherines; the isle of St. Paul, at the mouth of River St. Pierre, and the Isle aux Hérons. Côte des Neiges is a neat, thriving village, containing several tanneries and stores, and a chapel.

THE PARISH OF ST. LAURENT comprehends Côtes St. Laurent and St. Michel, with part of Notre Dame des Vertus. The handsome village of St. Laurent contains a number of stores, and a large Parish Church.

THE PARISH OF SAULT AU RECOLLET, situated on the Back River, or Rivière des Prairies, contains a neat village of the same name, a fine church, and several valuable saw and corn mills.

THE PARISH OF ST. GENEVIÈVE is situated at the extreme N. W. of the Island, opposite Isle Bizard, and has nothing remarkable to speak of.

THE PARISH OF LACHINE contains the large and thriving village of that name; it is an extensive Parish, extending nearly eight miles along the St. Lawrence, and has many excellent farms, orchards and gardens.

6