The Antarctic Ocean encircles the South Pole, and is called the Southern Ocean.

Seas.—These five oceans form all the other seas.

The Arctic Ocean forms three small seas: the Polar Sea, north of America; the White Sea, north of Europe; the sea of Kara, north of Asia.

The Atlantic Ocean forms ten other seas: four in North America: Baffin's Bay, Hudson's Bay, the Gulf

of Mexico and the Carribean Sea.

Seven in Europe: - the Baltic Sea; the North Sea; the English Channel; the Irish Sea; the Bay of Biscay; then it penetrates in land and forms the Mediterranean, which is subdivided into several others; the Black Sea; and the Sea of Marmara.

The Indian Ocean forms three inland seas or great gulfs:—the sea or gulf of Bengal; the Arabian Sea, or gulf of Oman; and the Red Sea, or gulf of Arabia.

The Pacific Ocean forms six remarkable seas on the east of Asia, from north to south: the Sea of Kamstchatka or Behring: the Sea of Okhotsk; the Sea of Japan; the Yellow Sea; the Blue or Eastern Sea, and the Chinese Sea.

The Caspian Sea, situated between Europe and Asia,

is a great lake.

ed? What parts of the world are watered by the Atlantic Ocean? by the Atlantic Ocean? by the Indian Ocean? by the Pacific Ocean? by the Pacific Ocean? dian Ocean? by the Arctic Ocean?

QUESTIONS. - Into how many by the Antarctic Ocean? What principal parts is the Ocean divid- seas are formed by the Arctic

calle. He Y miscre floor

## DIVISIONS OF THE EARTH.

Divisions of the earth.—The earth presents five great divisions, which are; America, Europe, Asia, Africa and Oceanica. 11, 17 , 18

There are three continents:-Europe, Asia, and Africa form the Old Continent.