## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

ROOM 277, THURSDAY, 30th April, 1942.

The Standing Committee on Railways and Shipping owned, operated and controlled by the Government, met this day at 11 o'clock a.m.

Members present: Messrs. Bercovitch, Donnelly, Dubuc, Emmerson, Ferland, Gray, Hanson (Skeena), Harris (Danforth), Hazen, Howden, Howe, Jackman, McCulloch, Maybank, Nicholson, Pouliot, Sanderson, Shaw, Sissons.

The Orders of Reference of Thursday, 19th February; Tuesday, 24th March; and Wednesday, 29th April, 1942, were read and the Clerk forthwith invited nominations for Chairman.

Mr. Hanson (Skeena) moved, seconded by Mr. McCulloch, that Mr. J. P. Howden be elected Chairman.

And the question being put on the said motion, it was agreed to unanimously.

And the Clerk of the Committee having declared Mr. J. P. Howden duly elected, he took the Chair. Mr. Howden expressed his thanks to the members for the honour conferred again upon him and the Committee proceeded forthwith with its deliberations.

On motion of Mr. Harris (Danforth), it was

Resolved,—That the Committee ask leave to print, from day to day, 500 copies in English and 200 copies in French of its minutes of proceedings and evidence, and that Standing Order 64 be suspended in relation thereto.

On motion of Mr. McCulloch, it was

Resolved,—That the Committee ask leave to reduce its quorum from 12 members to 8 members.

On motion of Mr. Hanson (Skeena), it was

Resolved,—That the Committee ask leave to sit while the House is sitting.

The following officials of the Department of Transport were in attendance:

Mr. C. P. Edwards, Deputy Minister;

Mr. G. W. Yates, Assistant Deputy Minister;

Mr. F. M. MacLennan, Chief Treasury Officer;

Mr. J. A. Wilson, Director of Air Services.

The Chairman of the Board of Directors, the President and general officers of the Canadian National Railway System, the Trans-Canada Air Lines and the Canadian National (West Indies) Steamships, Limited, were also in attendance, viz:—

Mr. S. J. Hungerford, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Canadian National Railway System;

Mr. R. C. Vaughan, President, Canadian National Railway System;

Mr. N. B. Walton, Vice-President, Operations, Canadian National Railway System;