tion in their educational systems; and requested them to adopt the necessary measures to spread information about the United Nations in their dependent territories. As it had in previous years, the Assembly also adopted a resolution to encourage study and training facilities for inhabitants of non-self-governing territories. In speaking in the debate in the Fourth Committee the Canadian Representative drew attention to the Canadian initiative in promoting the Commonwealth Scholarship Scheme.

The Fourth Committee also had before it a report prepared by the Secretary-General and Specialized Agencies on progress achieved by non-self-governing territories in economic, social and educational and related fields since 1946. As the report ran to nearly 3,000 pages, it was decided not to examine it immediately, but to refer it to the Committee on Information from Non-Self-Governing Territories for study at its eleventh session and to request that Committee to submit its observations and conclusions to

the General Assembly at its fifteenth session.

Beginning in 1957, the Assembly has expressed anxiety about the possible effects on certain dependent territories of the movement towards customs union in Western Europe. Of the six countries which, with the effective date of January 1, 1960, were to form the European Economic Community, four were administering members, Belgium, France, Italy and The Netherlands. Many governments feared that this type of Western European integration would react detrimentally to the economies of territories dependent on these administering members. Resolutions requesting the metropolitan countries concerned to furnish information on the possible effects of the association were introduced at the twelfth and thirteenth sessions, and were adopted by large majorities. Canada voted against these resolutions since it seemed unreasonable to expect such reports on the effects of a customs union which was still some distance from achievement. At the fourteenth session, in respect of a similar resolution, Canada abstained.

Canada voted for a resolution which requested administering members to propose their dependent African territories for membership in the Economic Commission for Africa and to include on their delegations representatives from their dependent territories to participate in the work of the Committee on Information from Non-Self-Governing Territories and the Fourth

Committee.

The Government of the United States informed the Assembly that Alaska and Hawaii had attained full statehood and that the United States would no longer transmit information about them. Canada co-sponsored a draft resolution congratulating the United States and approving the cessation of information under Article 73(e), which was adopted by large majorities by both the Fourth Committee and the plenary session. The Government of France made a similar declaration concerning the cessation of information on the autonomous republics of the French Community; no action was taken on the declaration.

The Fourth Committee elected Argentina and re-elected Ceylon for three year terms to the Committee on Information from Non-Self-Governing

Territories. The Assembly approved these elections.

## South West Africa

Since 1920 the Union of South Africa has administered the territory of South West Africa under a mandate of the League of Nations. In 1946 and each year thereafter the General Assembly has requested the Union to place the territory under a United Nations trusteeship agreement. This request