The following Petitions were severally brought up, and laid on the Table:-

By the Honorable Mr. Hamilton (Kingston),—Of William Chapman, Commissioner for the Trust and Loan Company of Canada.

By the Honorable Mr. Skead, -Of J. M. Currier, and others, of the City of Ottawa.

By the Honorable Mr. Girard,—Of J. H. Ashdown, and others, of the Province of Manitoba, and of the Portage, Westbourne, and North Western Railway Company.

By the Honorable Mr. McKay,—Of the Dominion Fire and Marine Insurance Company.

By the Honorable Mr. Gibbs,—Of William Frederick Cowan, and others, of Oshawa and Bowmanville, in the Province of Ontario,—And of William Brien, of Trillick, Tyrone, Ireland.

By the Honorable Mr. Chapais,—Of Chrysologue Roy, Mayor, and others, of the County of Bellechasse, in the Province of Quebec.

By the Honorable Mr. Sutherland,—Of Alexander Logan, and others, of the Province of Manitoba.

By the Honorable Mr. Scott,—Of Peter McLaren, and others, of the Counties of Lanark and Grenville, in the Province of Ontario.

Pursuant to the Order of the Day the following Petition was read:-

Of the Canadian Steam Users' Insurance Association; praying for the passing of an Act to change their name and the mode of electing their Directors.

The Honorable the Speaker presented to the House,—A List of the Shareholders of the Bank of Ottawa, as on the 8th February, 1882.

Ordered, That the same do lie on the Table, and it is as follows:—

(Vide Sessional Papers, No. 22.)

On motion of the Honorable Mr. Aikins, seconded by the Honorable Mr. Ryan, it was

Resolved, That the Honorable Messieurs Alexander, Allan, Almon, Baillargeon, Bellerose, Boucherville de, Bourinot, Sir Alexander Campbell, Chapais, Haythorne, Montgomery, MacInnes (Hamilton), Odell, Reesor, Ryan, Scott, Stevens, Trudel and Wark, be appointed a Committee to assist His Honor the Speaker in the direction of the Library of Parliament, so far as the interests of this House are concerned; and to act on behalf of this House as Members of a Joint Committee of both Houses on the Library.

Ordered, That the said Resolution be communicated to the House of Commons

by one of the Masters in Chancery.

On motion of the Honorable Mr. Aikins, seconded by the Honorable Mr. Ryan, it was

Resolved, That the Honorable Messieurs Aikins, Bureau, Cochrane, Ferrier, Guévremont, Haythorne, Kaulbach, McClelan, Macfarlane, Northwood, Odell, Reesor, Simpson, Skead and Wark, be appointed a Committee to superintend the Printing of this