SPECIAL AREAS FOR ECONOMIC EXPANSION

1

The Minister of Regional Economic Expansion, Mr. Jean Marchand, announced in the House of Commons on March 11 that, effective April 1, the Government had designated "special areas" of Canada to which over \$200 million in federal funds would be given for the economic expansion of specified regions.

Mr. Marchand's statement follows:

... The areas are:

expect that my Department's incentives to industry will bring about substantially faster industrial growth. To support this growth, my Department is ready to finance community facilities — water, sewers, roads, schools and so on — which are needed but which the cities and provinces cannot afford. These urban areas of Eastern Canada are as follows: in Newfoundland, St. John's and a surrounding area including the Conception Bay coast from Portugal Cove to Carbonear; in Nova Scotia, the metropolitan area of Halifax-Dartmouth; in New Brunswick, the city of Saint John as well as the city of Moncton

CONTENTS

Special Areas for Economic Expansion.	1
Care for Emotionally Disturbed	2
Rural Education Conference	2
Canada Welcomes Non-Proliferation	
Treaty	3
Ancient Shark Teeth	3
Wheat Pact With U.S.S.R. Extended	4
Archaeological Collection to Museum	4
Canadian Furs - Raccoon and Lynx	5
Forestry Loan to Malaysia	6
New Duties for Cyprus Force	6
National Ballet at Expo 70	6

and neighboring areas; in Quebec, the City of Quebec and vicinity as well as the area of Trois-Rivières, Shawinigan, Grand'Mère and Bécancour.

 In Saskatchewan, the urban areas are Regina and Saskatoon.

These cities were not included in the designated region under the industrial incentives program of the Department of Regional Economic Expansion because they have in recent years enjoyed very rapid growth. They are now, however, adversely affected by wheat- and potash-marketing problems. Under the departmental legislation, incentives will be offered to encourage alternative industrial employment.

- In Eastern Canada, three areas whose locations give them potential for growth but which may be held back by difficulties in financing community development. These areas are: in Newfoundland, Comer Brook and its environs; in Nova Scotia, the area round the Strait of Canso; and in Quebec, Sept Îles-Port Cartier.
- In Newfoundland, six additional areas which contain resettlement centers for people moving from the outports. In some of these centers there is special need for improved water and sewer facilities for housing, schools and roads. The areas are: the part of the Burin Peninsula that includes Fortune, Grand Bank, Garnish, St. Lawrence, Burin and Marystown; the area of Grand Falls, Botwood, Lewisporte and Gander; the area of Stephenville and St. George's; the area of Hawke's Bay, Port Saunders and Port au Choix; the area of Come-By-Chance, Amold's Cove and Goobies; the Happy Valley area in Labrador.
- In the Prairie Provinces, three mid-northern areas that can be assisted by industrial incentives for the development of forest-based operations and other resource industries and which require improved community facilities, particularly to assist the economic and social progress of Indian and Métis people. These areas are: in Manitoba, an area around The Pas; in Saskatchewan, the Meadow Lake area extending north to Lac la Loche; in Alberta, an