this Budget is serious and realistic, even in a constituency which will become Conservative in a short while, Mr. Speaker.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: I regret to interrupt the Hon. Member. It being 5:45 p.m., it is my duty pursuant to Standing Order 84(6) to interrupt the proceedings and put forthwith the question on the subamendment now before the House.

[English]

The question is on the amendment to the amendment. Mr. Riis, seconded by Mr. Parry, moved:

That the amendment be amended by changing the period at the end thereof to a comma, and by adding immediately thereafter the following words:

"and this House further condemns the Government for its brutal, uncaring and unfair tax increases on average income families while at the same time lowering taxes for upper income families and the corporate sector, and for its refusal to undertake an overhaul of the income tax system to bring about tax fairness and to give Canadians a tax system that they can understand."

Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the amendment to the amendment?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those in favour please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those opposed please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Call in the Members.

The House divided on the amendment to the amendment (Mr. Riis), which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 204)

YEAS

Members

Allmand Angus Benjamin Blackburn (Brant) Blaikie Broadbent Caccia Copps The Budget-Miss Nicholson

Johnston Deans (Saint-Henri-West-Dingwall Frith mount) Gauthier Kaplan Gray (Windsor West) Keeper Marchi Heap Henderson McCurdy Mitchell Nicholson Hopkins Hovdebo (Trinity) Isabelle Nystrom Orlikow Jewett

Ouellet Parry Penner Pépin Prud'homme Robichaud Robinson Rodriguez Rossi Skelly Turner

(Vancouver Quadra) Young—40.

NAYS Members

Hardey Andre Attewell Hawkes Hees Binns Blais-Grenier Hnatyshyn Blenkarn James Bouchard Jardine Johnson (Bonavista-Trinity-Bradley Brightwell Conception) Ioncas Browes Jourdenais Cadieux Kilgour Carney Chartrand Kindy King Coates Collins Ladouceur Cooper Landry Lanthier Crofton Layton Crosbie Lewis (St. John's West) MacDonald Crosby (Halifax West) (Kingston and the Islands) Darling MacDougall (Timiskaming) Daubner Desjardins Desrosiers Mantha Mayer McCuish Dick Domm Dorin McKenzie McKnight Duplessis McMillan Fennell Fretz Merrithew Mitges Gass Gérin Murta Girard Nickerson

Gormley Gottselig

Gurbin Hamilton Pietz Plamondon Plourde Redway Reid Reimer Ricard St. Germain Schellenberg (Nanaimo-Alberni) Schellenberger (Wetaskiwin) Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scowen Speyer Stackhouse Stewart Suluk Thacker Tupper Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Vézina Vincent Warner Weiner Wenman Wilson (Swift Current-Maple Creek) Wilson (Etobicoke Centre) Winegard

Witer-101.

Mr. Speaker: I declare the amendment lost.

Nielsen

Oberle O'Neil

Oostrom

It being 6.12 o'clock, this House stands adjourned until tomorrow at 11 a.m., pursuant to Standing Order 3(1).

The House adjourned at 6.12 p.m.