Petroleum Incentives Program Act

and then we came back and resumed debate. That was shameful conduct on the part of the NDP and the hon. member for Vancouver-Kingsway.

Some hon. Members: Oh, oh!

Mr. Dingwall: I will not quote the hon. member, but the hon. member for Vancouver-Kingsway had the audacity to suggest that perhaps there was an intellectual—I use that term quite loosely—understanding between his party and the government of the province of Quebec, when he referred to Rene Levesque. Is that where the NDP stands? I ask that question quite sincerely.

We have made encouraging progress toward our goal of achieving at least 50 per cent Canadian ownership by 1990. In the past year, with the changes from foreign to Canadian control of such large companies as Hudson's Bay Oil and Gas Limited, Aquitaine Company of Canada Limited and Petrofina of Canada Limited, foreign control declined by about 10.5 per cent to a level of approximately 67.2 per cent. At the same time, the level of foreign ownership of upstream production revenue was 65.5 per cent, a drop of 6.5 percentage points in one year.

While the purchases of foreign-owned oil companies are vital to the government's Canadianization plan; they are not the only means. This bill provides another means by which Canadians can take charge of their oil and gas industry.

There have been some concerns raised by hon. members of the official opposition that the energy legislation, and particularly the bill which is now before us, is discriminatory toward the oil and gas industry in the United States. However, I wish to lay on the record a quote of the former President of the United States, Richard Nixon, who told this House in no uncertain terms on April 14, 1972, that:

No self-respecting nation can or should accept the proposition that it should always be economically dependent upon any other nation. Let us recognize once and for all that the only basis for a sound and healthy relationship between our two proud peoples is to find a pattern of economic interaction which is beneficial to both our countries and which respects Canada's right to chart its own economic course.

I think that statement tells it all. Mr. Nixon made that statement ten years ago. However, I do not have to tell hon. members of this House that Canada still faces the situation whereby we are still dependent upon other nations. This is particularly true in the oil and gas industry.

The petroleum incentives program is a very positive program—

Some hon. Members: Hear. hear!

Mr. Dingwall: —which offers incentives to Canadians to participate in their own industry. I can understand why the New Democratic Party opposes this. It would perhaps prefer that depletion allowances continue for the multinational oil companies. Then members of that party would perhaps have an opportunity to sit on the board of directors of those companies. That is probably what they want.

Mr. Kempling: Like Tommy Douglas.

Mr. Dingwall: This petroleum incentives program is one which we believe will lead to increased Canadian control and less dependence on foreign ownership. Our intent, as emphasized in the National Energy Program, is to mobilize predominantly private Canadian investment in the oil and gas industry.

Some hon. Members: Hear, hear!

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): Is the House ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Question!

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion? All those in favour will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more then five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Lalonde), which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 167)

YEAS

Messrs

Allmand	Demers	Irwin
Appolloni	Deniger	Isabelle
(Mrs.)	Dingwall	Johnston
Bachand	Dion	Joval
Baker	Dionne	Kaplan
(Gander-Twillingate)	(Northumberland-	Kelly
Beauchamp-Niquet	Miramichi)	Killens (Mrs.)
(Mrs.)	Dubois	Lachance
Berger	Duclos	Lalonde
Blais	Dupont	Lamontagne
Blaker	Dupras	Landers
Bloomfield	Erola (Mrs.)	Lang
Bockstael	Ethier	Laniel
Bossy	Evans	Lapierre
Breau	Ferguson	Lapointe
Bujold	Fisher	(Charlevoix)
Burghardt	Fleming	Lapointe
Bussières	Flis	(Beauce)
Caccia	Foster	LeBlanc
Campbell	Fox	Leduc
(Miss)	Frith	Lefebyre
(South West Nova)	Gendron	Loiselle
Campbell	Gimaïel	MacBain
(Cardigan)	Gingras	MacGuigan
Chrétien	Gourde	Mackasey
Collenette	(Lévis)	MacLaren
Corbin	Guilbault	MacLellan
Corriveau	Harquail	Malépart
Cosgrove	Henderson	Maltais
Côté (Mrs.)	Herbert	Marceau
Cousineau	Hervieux-Payette	Massé
Cullen	(Mrs.)	Masters
Daudlin	Hopkins	McRae