His Excellency the Administrator recommends to the House of Commons a measure to provide in the manner prescribed during the period July 1, 1974 to June 30, 1980, in relation to wheat produced outside the designated area as defined in the Canadian Wheat Board Act and, during the period August 1, 1974 to July 31, 1980 in relation to wheat produced in the said designated area, payments in the amounts calculated thereunder in respect of each bushel of durum wheat and in respect of each bushel of wheat other than durum produced and sold for human consumption in Canada; and to provide for interest, in the manner prescribed, in relation to payments between the periods commencing July 1, 1974 and August 1, 1974 respectively and, the time when the measure is enacted.

The House resumed debate on the motion of Mr. Duclos, seconded by Mr. Lee,-That the following Address be presented to His Excellency the Administrator of the Government of Canada:

To His Excellency the Right Honourable Bora Laskin, Chief Justice of Canada and Administrator of the Government of Canada.

MAY IT PLEASE YOUR EXCELLENCY:

We, Her Majesty's most loyal and dutiful subjects, the House of Commons of Canada, in Parliament assembled, beg leave to offer our humble thanks to Your Excellency for the gracious Speech which Your Excellency has addressed to both Houses of Parliament.

And on the motion of Mr. Stanfield, seconded by Mr. Wagner, in amendment thereto,—That the following words be added to the Address:

"We respectfully suggest to your Excellency that the failure of your Ministers to act resolutely after the election of July 8th, last, has contributed to the increasing disparity and the social and economic disarray in the country, which require prompt, decisive leadership which is lacking in the Speech from the Throne.".

And debate continuing, at 5.30 o'clcck p.m., Mr. Speaker interrupted the proceedings pursuant to Standing Order 38(4):

And the question being put on the amendment to the main motion, it was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 3)

YEAS

Messrs.

Alexander Blackburn Clarke Alkenbrack (Vancouver Quadra) Brewin Allard Cossitt Brisco Baker Broadbent Crouse (Grenville-Carleton) Cadieu Darling Baldwin Caouette Dick Bawden (Villeneuve) Diefenbaker Beatty Carter Dinsdale Beaudoin Clark Dionne Benjamin (Rocky Mountain) (Kamouraska)

Messrs

Douglas Lambert (Nanaimo-Cowichan-(Bellechasse) The Islands) Lambert (Edmonton West) Elzinga Laprise Epp Firth La Salle Fortin Lawrence Friesen Leggatt Gilbert MacDonald Grafftey (Egmont) Halliday MacDonald (Miss) Hamilton (Kingston and the (Swift Current-Islands) Maple Creek) MacKay Hargrave MacLean Hnatvshyn Macquarrie Hogan Malone Holmes Marshall Horner Matte Howie Mazankowski Huntington McCain Hurlburt McCleave Jarvis McGrath Jelinek McKenzie Johnston McKinley Jones McKinnon Kempling Mitges Knowles Muir (Winnipeg Munro North Centre) (Esquimalt-Saanich) Korchinski Murta

Nystrom Oberle Orlikow Paproski Patterson Revnolds Ritchie Roche Rodriguez Rondeau Rynard Saltsman Schellenberger Schumacher Skoreyko Smith (Churchill) Stanfield Stevens Stewart (Marquette) Symes Towers Wagner Wenman Whiteway Wise Woolliams Yewchuk-103

Neil

NAYS

Messrs.

Abbott Ethier Allmand Faulkner Anderson Fleming Andres Flynn (Port Arthur) Foster Andres Fox (Lincoln) Francis Appolloni (Mrs.) Goodale Baker Gover (Gander-Twillingate) Grav Basford Guav Béchard (St. Boniface) Bégin (Miss) Guay Blais (Lévis) Blaker Guilbault Breau Haidasz Buchanan Herbert Bussières Holt (Mrs) Caccia Hopkins Cafik Jamieson Campagnolo (Mrs.) Joval Campbell (Miss) Kaplan (South Western Nova) Lachance Campbell Lajoie (LaSalle-Émard-Côte Lalonde Saint-Paul) Landers Caron Lang Chrétien Lapointe Clermont Lehlanc Collenette (Laurier) Condon LeBlanc (Westmorland-Kent) Corbin Corriveau Lee Lefebvre Cullen Lessard Loiselle Daudlin (Chambly) De Bané Loiselle (Saint-Henri) Demers Lumley Dionne MacDonald (Northumberland-(Cardigan) Miramichi) Douglas MacEachen MacFarlane (Bruce)

MacGuigan

Mackasey

Marceau

Marchand

(Langelier)

Maine

Cyr

Drury

Duclos

Dupont

Duquet

Dubé

Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) Martin McIsaac McRae Milne Morin (Mrs.) Munro (Hamilton East) Nicholson (Miss) O'Connell Olivier Ouellet Parent Pearsall Pelletier (Hochelaga) Pelletier (Sherbrooke) Penner Philbrook Pinard Portelance Poulin Raines Reid Richardson Roberts Robinson Rompkey Rooney Roy (Laval) Sauvé (Mrs.) Sharp Smith (Saint-Jean) Stollery Tessier Trudeau Trudel Turner (London East) Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Whelan Yanakis

Young-122