MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

THURSDAY, February 12, 1959.

The Standing Committee on Mines, Forests and Waters met at 11.00 o'clock a.m. this day.

Members present: Messrs. Aiken, Dumas, Granger, Gundlock, Hardie, Kindt, Korchinski, McFarlane, McGregor, McQuillan, Mitchell, Muir (Cape Breton North and Victoria), Murphy, Nielsen, Payne, Richard (St. Maurice-Lafleche), Roberge, Simpson, Slogan, Stearns and Woolliams—(21).

Mr. Nielsen moved, seconded by Mr. McFarlane, That Mr. Murphy be Chairman of the Committee.

Nominations having been closed on motion of Mr. Woolliams, seconded by Mr. Korchinski, Mr. Murphy was declared to have been elected Chairman, and he took the Chair.

The Chairman expressed his appreciation of the honour which had been conferred on him. He then read the Orders of Reference whereby the Committee had been activated and given certain powers.

On motion of Mr. Stearns, seconded by Mr. Payne, Resolved,—That Mr. Nielsen be Vice-chairman of the Committee.

On motion of Mr. Woolliams, seconded by Mr. Aiken,

Resolved,—That the Committee recommend to the House that it be empowered to print such papers and evidence as may be ordered by the Committee, and that Standing Order 66 be suspended in relation thereto.

On motion of Mr. Aiken, seconded by Mr. Kindt,

Resolved (unanimously),—That the Committee recommend to the House that it be granted leave to sit while the House is sitting.

On Motion of Mr. Muir (Cape Breton North and Victoria), seconded by Mr. Aiken,

Resolved,—That a Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure be appointed, comprising the Chairman and Messrs. Coates, Dumas, Latour, Martin (*Timmins*), Mitchell and Nielsen.

It was agreed that two films on northern Canada be shown at the next meeting of the Committee.

At 11.15 o'clock a.m. the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Tuesday, February 17, 1959. (2)

The Standing Committee on Mines, Forests and Waters met at 11.00 o'clock a.m. this day, the Chairman, Mr. J. W. Murphy, presiding.

Members present: Messrs. Aiken, Cadieu, Coates, Doucett, Drouin, Dumas, Godin, Gundlock, Hardie, Korchinski, Kindt, Leduc, MacInnis, MacRae, Martel, Martineau, McFarlane, McGregor, Murphy, Nielsen, Robichaud and Slogan—(22).