

## PRESS RELEASE

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS
OTTAWA - CANADA

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE TUESDAY, AUGUST 30, 1960.

No. 68

The recently appointed Canadian National Group in the Permanent Court of Arbitration today announced its nominations for the forthcoming elections to the International Court of Justice, which will be held during the Fifteenth Session of the General Assembly of the United Nations this autumn. For the five seats which will become vacant in the regular way on February 5, 1961, the Canadian National Group nominated:

Mr. Paul Guggenheim of Switzerland Sir Muhammad Zafrulla Khan of Pakistan Mr. Phillip Jessup of the United States Mr. Justice Kotara Tanaka of Japan

There is also a by-election being held to fill another vacancy and the Canadian National Group has nominated Sir Gerald Fitzmaurice of the United Kingdom to fill this vacancy.

The nominations have been communicated to the Secretary General of the United Nations. He, in turn, notifies member governments of the United Nations of all nominations prior to the actual elections which are conducted by the General Assembly and the Security Council. Candidates who obtain an absolute majority of votes in the Assembly and the Security Council are considered as elected.

The members of the Canadian National Group consist of: The Honourable Mr. Justice Ritchie, Judge of the Supreme Court of Canada; Arthur Hugo Ray, Esq., Q.C., of Vancouver, B.C.; Professor Jacques-Yvan Morin, Professor of International Law, University of Montreal; and Mr. Marcel Cadieux, Deputy Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs.

In addition to the duties of arbitrators which members of the Canadian Group may be called upon to perform, they also perform the supplementary function which is provided for in the Statute of the International Court of Justice of making nominations for elections to the International Court of Justice.