APPENDIX "A"

(See p. 1327)

CANADA-UNITED STATES INTER-PARLIAMENTARY GROUP

TWENTY-SIXTH MEETING, NIAGARA-ON-THE-LAKE, ONTARIO
MAY 16-20, 1985
REPORT OF THE CANADIAN DELEGATION

The 26th annual meeting of the Canada-United States Inter-Parliamentary Group was held at Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario. Discussions took place in three Committees:

Committee I: Economic and Trade Issues

Committee II: Energy, Defence and Multilateral Issues

Committee III: Fisheries, Environment and Multilateral Issues

At the conclusion of Committee discussions, the Group met in Plenary session to hear presentations and discuss Canada-United States free trade and to permit 2 delegates on Committee III to make presentations on acid rain. The Canadians who co-chaired the Committee meetings with U.S. counterparts were: for Committee I, Senator Richard Stanbury; for Committee II, Patrick Nowlan, MP; and for Committee III, Fred McCain, MP.

The United States Delegation

The Senate

Honourable Ted Stevens, Chairman (Republican-Alaska) Honourable Edward Zorinsky, Vice-Chairman (Democrat-Nebraska)

Honourable Orrin G. Hatch (Republican-Utah) Honourable Max Baucus (Democrat-Montana) Honourable Howell Heflin (Democrat-Alabama)

The House of Representatives

Honourable Michael Barnes, Co-Chairman (Democrat-Maryland)

Honourable Dante B. Fascell (Democrat-Florida)

Honourable Sam Gibbons (Democrat-Florida)

Honourable Lee Hamilton (Democrat-Minnesota)

Honourable James Oberstar (Democrat-Minnesota)

Honourable John LaFalce (Democrat-New York)

Honourable Brian Donnelly (Democrat-Massachusetts)

Honourable Bill Broomfield (Republican-Michigan)

Honourable Bill Frenzel (Republican-Minnesota)

Honourable Arlan Stangeland (Republican-Minnesota)

Honourable David Martin (Republican-New York)

Honourable John Miller (Republican-Washington)

The Canadian Delegation

The Senate

Honourable Richard J. Stanbury, Co-Chairman (Liberal-Ontario)

Honourable Dan Hays (Liberal-Alberta)

Honourable Henry D. Hicks (Liberal-Nova Scotia)

Honourable Lowell Murray (Progressive Conservative-Ontario)

Honourable Nathan Nurgitz (Progressive Conservative-Manitoba)

Honourable Peter Stollery (Liberal-Ontario)

Honourable George C. van Roggen (Liberal-British Columbia)

The House of Commons

Mr. Pat Nowlan, M.P., Co-Chairman (Progressive Conservative-Nova Scotia)

Mr. Iain Angus, M.P. (New Democratic Party-Ontario)

Mr. W.C. Attewell, M.P. (Progressive Conservative-Ontario)

Honourable Lloyd Axworthy, P.C., M.P. (Liberal-Manitoba)

Mr. Ross Belsher, M.P. (Progressive Conservative-British Columbia)

Mr. Jim Caldwell, M.P. (Progressive Conservative-Ontario)

Mr. Jean Charest, M.P. (Progressive Conservative-Quebec) Mr. Stan Darling, M.P. (Progressive Conservative-Ontario)

Mr. Maurice Foster, M.P. (Liberal-Ontario)

Mr. Sid Fraleigh, M.P. (Progressive Conservative-Ontario) Mr. Jim Hawkes, M.P. (Progressive Conservative-Alberta)

Mr. Felix Holtmann, M.P. (Progressive Conservative-Manitoba)

Miss Pauline Jewett, M.P. (New Democratic Party-British Columbia)

Mr. Fred McCain, M.P. (Progressive Conservative-New Brunswick)

Mr. Louis Plamondon, M.P. (Progressive Conservative-Quebec)

Mr. Guy Ricard, M.P. (Progressive Conservative-Quebec Mrs. Barbara Sparrow, M.P. (Progressive Conservative-

Alberta)