Rivers—The only river of importance is the Murray, with its tributaries the Darling and Murrumbidgee. These rivers, with their tributaries, take their rise in the great dividing ridge towards the southeast of the continent. In drought these streams often become merely detached pools. In the wet season they are subject to sudden and violent floods. The Swan River in the west is navigable,

Lakes The lakes vary greatly in size at different times. Sometimes they become grassy plains. Many of them are only salt marshes. Lake Eyre is the centre of the "Continental" rivers of Australia. A number of streams find their outlet in this lake, the waters of

which are saline,

Climate—The climate varies from tropical in the north to warm temperate in the south. The mountains along the eastern side have a good rainfall, but the interior is so warm that moisture is not condensed there.

Soil-Fertility depends upon the rainfall. The most productive region is between the dividing range and the sea. The basin of the Darling and other streams produce nutritious grasses which sustain immense flocks of sheep. The vine, orange, fig, olive and peach flourish better in Australia than in Europe; wheat, maize, oats and barley return abundant crops.

People-The aborigines are fast disappearing. They belong to the Austral-Negro race. They are low savages without house or domestic animals, their chief occupation being hunting and war.

Railways The capitals, Adelaide, Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane are connected by railway. Lines run from the eas and south, also into the interior. In the west Perth is connected with the inland gold-centres.

Religion—There are no state clurches in any of the Australian states. Education-Education in each state is state-aided, compulsory, and to a large extent free,

## 2.—Commonwealth of Australia, Page 202.

Have the map on page 201 in constant use.

Outline each colony in the sketch map.

TOPICS: Productions of the colonies, chief cities, Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, Brisbane.

Additional information:

On January 1st, 1901, New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia and Tasmania were united to form

