MAP OF BRITAIN, SHOWING THE ANGLO-SAXON STATES.

Alcluyd Edwinesburg BRITAIN 0 under the Angles & Saxons Stamford Br. X 633 uthum NORTH Folk Buttington EAST Midd ANGLIA Bury St Edmunds ESSE> K ENT % 878 Ellandun Winchester

The different Anglian and Saxon States, in the order of their reputed settlement, were,—Kent, Sussex, Wessex, Essex, East Anglia (comprising North-folk and Suth-felk), Northumbria (separated into Deira and Bernicia), and Mercia, which was conquered by Anglians and was mainly subject to Northumbria. The seven chief States are sometimes called *The Heptarchy*, or Rule of Seven; but there never were at any one time seven independent States.

The native Britons, or Welsh as the Anglo-Saxons called the m, were driven into Cornwall (or West Wales), North Wales, Cumbria, and Strathclwyd.

nat is, the

hens in reners. But in Kent in a faith was it rapidly refinement

e another; ne stronger nong three three then emained as ther seven.

hat general ain? What

ers in relign was Chrisent? When

f the wars a-Among what rst divided? the end.

engaged in to ravage ated to the es and the

Danes were Alfred was f his reign o hard that a the island

d he began could, and