[English]

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those opposed to the motion will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Chrétien), which was agreed to on the following division:

• (1722)

(Division No. 48)

YEAS

Messrs

Allmand Duclos MacEachen Dupras Anderson MacFarlane Andras MacGuigan (Port Arthur) Faulkner Marceau Fleming Andres Martin (Lincoln) Flynn Basford Foster McRae Béchard Francis Milne Gauthier Bégin (Miss) Munro (Ottawa-Vanier) (Hamilton Fast) Blais Goodale Blouin Nicholson (Miss) Boulanger Gray O'Connell Guay Buchanan Pearsall Bussières Guilbault Pelletier Caccia Herbert Penner Campagnolo (Mrs.) Hopkins Philbrook Pinard Horner (LaSalle-Émard-Côte Isabelle Prud'homme Saint-Paul) Jamiesor Railton Caron Chrétien Kaplan Reid Lachance Roberts Clermont Lajoie Robinson Lamontagne Collenette Rompkey Comtois Landers Roy Condon Lang (Timmins) Roy (Laval) Langlois Corriveau Lapointe Leblanc Côté Smith Cullen (Laurier) (Saint-Jean) Danson LeBlanc Stollery (Westmorland-Kent) Daudlin Tessier Lefebvre De Bané Loiselle Turner (Chambly) Watson Demers Loiselle Whelan (Northumberland-(Saint-Henri) Wood Lumley MacDonald Miramichi) Yanakis Young-99. Douglas (Bruce-Grey) (Cardigan)

NAYS

Messrs.

Alexander Caquette Allard (Villeneuve) Andre Clark (Calgary Centre) (Rocky Mountain) Beatty Clarke Benjamin (Vancouver Quadra) Blackburn Coates Brisco Crosbie Broadbent Darling

Dionne (Kamouraska) Douglas (Nanaimo-Cowichan-The Islands) Ellis Firth Forrestall

National Resources and Public Works

Messrs.

Knowles (Esquimalt-Saanich) Gauthier (Norfolk-Haldimand) (Roberval) Murta Lambert Gillies (Bellechasse) Neil Grafftey La Salle Nowlan Hamilton Nystrom Lawrence (Qu'Appelle-Moose Mountain) Oberle Leggatt MacDonald Orlikow Hargrave Paproski (Egmont) MacDonald (Miss) Hnatyshyn Patterson (Kingston and the Islands) Ritchie Hogan Roche Howie MacKay Saltsman Schumacher Huntington Mazankowski McCain Scott Stanfield Iones McGrath Kempling Stevens McKenzie Knowles (Winnipeg McKinley Towers Whiteway McKinnon North Centre) Muir Wise-70

• (1742)

Mr. Speaker: I therefore declare the motion carried.

NATIONAL RESOURCES AND PUBLIC WORKS

MOTION TO CONVENE STANDING COMMITTEE

Mr. Allan Lawrence (Northumberland-Durham): Mr. Speaker, the House will recall that earlier this afternoon a question of privilege was raised by the hon. member for Fort William (Mr. McRae). His words certainly fell on sympathetic ears on this side of the House. They related to the apparent duplication of work between a standing committee of this House and an agreement tabled yesterday by the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources (Mr. Gillespie).

I would request through you, Mr. Speaker, leave of the House to present the following motion, seconded by the hon. member for Fort William:

That the Standing Committee on National Resources be convened as soon as the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources is available to attend to examine into and report upon the agreement tabled in this House yesterday, June 5, between Atomic Energy (Canada) Limited and Ontario Hydro and the duplication between the work of the committee and the conclusions apparent in the agreement.

Some hon. Members: Hear, hear!

Mr. Speaker: Presentation of the motion at this time would require the unanimous consent of the House. Is there unanimous consent?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Some hon. Members: No.