

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

No.: 91

DIFFUSION: FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
SEPTEMBER 21, 1981

SECRETARY OF STATE FOR EXTERNAL AFFAIRS
ASSUMES PRESIDENCY OF THE NORTH ATLANTIC COUNCIL

The Department of External Affairs announced today that the Presidency of the North Atlantic Council for 1981/82 has been assumed by the Secretary of State for External Affairs, The Honourable Mark MacGuigan. Dr. MacGuigan will hold the position during the period from the 18th of September 1981 until the 18th September 1982. The position of Président d'honneur rotates among the Foreign Ministers of the North Atlantic Council (NATO) nations in English alphabetical order. The last Canadian to assume the Presidency of the North Atlantic council was the Honourable Paul Martin who held the position in 1965/66.

Dr. MacGuigan succeeds Mr. C.F. Nothomb, Minister of Foreign Affairs for Belgium whose year-long term of office has expired.