## Society Proceedings.

## MONTREAL MEDICO-CHIRURGICAL SOCIETY.

The Thirtieth Annual Meeting, October 5th, 1900.

The retiring President, DR. J. G. ADAMI, occupied the chair.

The minutes of the last annual meeting were read and confirmed.

The Secretary, Dr. A. J. BAZIN, reported that 19 regular meetings had been held during the session, the average attendance being 28, the largest number present at one meeting, 47. Eight new members had been enrolled, making the total 161; this, with 27 temporary members, made a grand total of 188. During the year the society lost two members by death, Drs. T. D. Reed and Charles O'Connor.

The routine work of the session comprised 92 items; 3 general discussions had been held, 13 papers and 24 case reports presented, 11 living cases and 40 pathological specimens shown. In addition to this, the society had been engaged in business of more public character, consisting of the formation of a medical defense association, the compilation of a Canadian Addendum to the British Pharmacopæia, and the providing of hospital accommodation for infectious dseases in the western portion of the city. A milk commission has also been created by the society.

The Treasurer, DR. J. M. JACK, read the annual report, showing that the receipts for the year were \$666.54 and the expenditure \$329.75, which, with the cash balance of the previous year, left a balance of \$527.16 on hand. After deducting all outstanding liabilities, the nett assets of the society amounted to \$1,232.16.

In moving the adoption of the report, the question of obtaining a permanent home for the society was brought up, and Dr. Buller offered to subscribe \$100 a year for five years towards this object provided any other member would do the same.

The following officers were elected for the session 1900-01:---

President—Dr. Jas. Perrigo.

First Vice-President-Dr. J. W. Stirling.

Second Vice-President-Dr. J. G. McCarthy.

Treasurer-Dr. J. M. Jack (re-elected).

Secretary-Dr. A. J. Bazin (re-elected).

Librarian-Dr. F. A. L. Lockhart (re-elected).

Council-Drs. J. G. Adami, J. M. Elder, and F. Buller.