legislation was had granting the Territories a Legislative Assembly of twenty-two members, but without Responsible Government. The Lieutenant-Governor, who is appointed by the Dominion authority for four years, has, however, the right of choosing from the Assembly four members to act as an Advisory Council in matters of finance. Three of the judges of the Territories sit in the Assembly as legal experts to give their opinion on legal and constitutional questions as they arise; but while they may take part in the debates they cannot vote. The Assembly has a duration of three years, and is called together at such time as the Lieutenant Governor appoints. It elects its own Speaker, and is governed by rules and usages similar to those that prevail in the Assemblies of the Provinces. Each member receives \$500, the legal experts \$250 a Session, besides an allowance for travelling expenses. The Dominion Treasury provides nearly all the funds necessary for carrying on the government and for other necessary expenses. The elections are by open voting; the electors must be bona fide male residents and householders of adult age, who are not aliens or unenfranchised Indians, and who have resided within the district where they live for twelve months before the election. The civil and criminal laws of England are in force in the Territories, so far as they can be made applicable, and the Lieutenant Governor and Assembly have such powers to make ordinances for the government of the North-West as the Governor General in Council confers upon them, but their powers cannot at any time exceed those conferred by the Confederation Act upon the Provincial Legislatures. There is a Supreme Court of the North-West Territories, composed of five judges, appointed, like all other members of the judiciary, by the Dominion Government, and removable upon the address of Parliament. As previously indicated, the Territories are represented in the Senate by two Senators, and in the Commons by four members, who vote and have all the other privileges of the representatives of the Provinces. It may be added that there are in Manitoba and the Territories some 45,000 Indians, who are the wards of the Canadian Government. As regards the total number of electors on the several Provincial Voters' Lists, it is to be regretted that but three of the Provinces have furnished the information on this head desired by the Imperial House of Commons, viz., Ontario, which gives an estimated number of half a million, and Quebec and British Columbia, whose numbers are 249,519 and 8,163, respectively. In the other Provinces, and in the Territories, only the total number of votes polled at the last General Election can be given: Nova Scotia, 112,773; New Brunswick, 118,152; Manitoba, 24,527; Prince Edward Island, 23,746; the Territories, 10,384.

4th. A Provincial Judiciary, which is treated of separately elsewhere in the

section devoted exclusively to the judiciary.

5th. A Civil Service, with officers appointed by the Provincial Government, holding office, as a rule, during pleasure, and not removable for political reasons. 6th. A municipal system, whose organization comprises in Ontario, where the system is to be found in its most complete and symmetrical form (1) Townships or rural districts of eight or ten square miles, with a population of 3,000 to 6,000, administered by a Reeve and four Councillors; (2) Villages with a population of 750, governed like the townships; (3) Towns with a population of over 2,000, governed by a Mayor and three councillors for each ward if there are less than five wards, and two Councillors if more than five. The Reeves, Deputy Reeves, Mayors and Councillors are all elected annually by the rate-payers. Above these stands the County Municipality, consisting of the Reeves and Deputy Reeves of the townships, villages and towns within the county; one of these, who presides, being called the "Warden" of the county. Alongside the county stands the city, with a population of over 15,000, governed by a municipal body of Mayor and three Aldermen for every ward, with powers and functions akin to those of counties and towns combined. The councils have power to levy rates, create debts, promote agriculture, trade or manufactures, or railways, and powers relating to drainage, roads, paupers, cemeteries, public schools, free libraries, markets, fire companies, preservation of the peace, and for all other objects falling within the legitimate scope of local municipal requirements. The exemptions from taxation comprise all Government and public property, places of