Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Some hon. Members: No.

Madam Speaker: All those in favour of the amendment will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Madam Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Madam Speaker: In my opinion, the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

The House divided on the amendment (Mr. Waddell), which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 183)

YEAS

Messrs

Althouse	Gilchrist	McKinnon
Anguish	Greenaway	McKnight
Baker	Gustafson	McMillan
(Nepean-Carleton)	Halliday	Miller
Beatty	Hamilton	Mitchell
Benjamin	(Qu'Appelle-Moose	(Mrs.)
Blackburn	Mountain)	Murphy
Blenkarn	Hargrave	Murta
Broadbent	Hawkes	Neil
Cardiff	Heap	Nickerson
Carney (Miss)	Hnatyshyn	Nystrom
Clark	Hovdebo	Oberle
(Yellowhead)	Howie	Ogle
Coates	Jarvis	Orlikow
Cook	Jelinek	Paproski
Corbett	Jewett (Miss)	Riis
Crosbie	Keeper	Rose
(St. John's West)	Kempling	Schellenberger
Crosby	Kilgour	Scott
(Halifax West)	Kristiansen	(Victoria-Haliburton)
Crouse	Kushner	Siddon
Deans	Lambert	Skelly
Dick	Lawrence	Speyer
Dinsdale	Lewis	Stewart
Domm	Lewycky	Taylor
Elzinga	MacDonald	Thacker
Fennell	(Miss)	Thomson
Fraser	MacKay	Vankoughnet
Fretz	Malone	Waddell
Friesen	Manly	Wenman
Fulton	Mayer	Wise
Gamble	Mazankowski	Wright
Gass	McCain	Young
		Yurko—91.

NAYS

	Messrs.	
Allmand	Bussières	Dawson
Axworthy	Campbell	De Bané
Bachand	(LaSalle)	de Corneille
Baker	Campbell	Demers
(Gander-Twillingate)	(Cardigan)	Deniger
Beauchamp-Niquet	Chénier	Desmarais
(Mrs.)	Chrétien	Dingwall
Bégin (Miss)	Collenette	Dubois
Berger	Comtois	Duclos
Blaker	Corbin	Dupont
Bloomfield	Côté (Mrs.)	Dupras
Bockstael	Cousineau	Duquet
Bossy	Cullen	Ethier
Breau	Cyr	Evans
Bujold	Daudlin	Ferguson

Energy, Mines and Resources

Messrs.

Fisher	Lang	Parent
Fleming	Laniel	Pelletier
Flis	Lapierre	Penner
Foster	Lapointe	Peterson
Fox	(Beauce)	Pinard
Francis	LeBlanc	Prud'homme
Frith	Leduc	Regan
Gauthier	MacBain	Roberts
Gendron	MacEachen	Robinson
Gimaïel	MacGuigan	(Etobicoke-Lakeshore)
Gingras	Mackasey	Rooney
Gourde	MacLaren	Roy
(Lévis)	MacLellan	Schroder
Guilbault	Malépart	Simmons
Harquail	Maltais	Smith
Henderson	Marceau	Tessier
Hervieux-Payette	Massé	Tobin
(Mrs.)	Masters	Tousignant
Isabelle	McCauley	Trudeau
Joyal	Munro	Turner
Kelly	(Hamilton East)	Veillette
Killens (Mrs.)	Nicholson	Watson
Lachance	(Miss)	Weatherhead
Lajoie	Olivier	Whelan
Lamontagne	Ostiguy	Yanakis—112.
Landers	Ouellet	

Madam Speaker: I declare the motion lost.

[Translation]

Mr. Pinard (for Mr. Lalonde) moved that the bill, as amended, be concurred in.

Motion agreed to.

Mr. Pinard (for Mr. Lalonde) moved that the bill be read the third time and do pass.

• (1710)

[English]

Hon. Perrin Beatty (Wellington-Dufferin-Simcoe): Madam Speaker, in order to facilitate the debate which will be taking place in the course of the next few minutes, perhaps it will be useful to talk for a couple of minutes about what this debate is not about. This debate is not about the issue of whether there is a role for Crown corporations in the energy field in the future. That is an issue to be debated on another occasion. What the debate is about this afternoon is the question whether or not Parliament has a role to play in being consulted and involved before the government sets up new Crown corporations in the energy field. That is the first issue.

The second issue is what responsibility does Parliament have on a continuing basis to ensure that Crown corporations operating in the marketplace operate in a way that is fair and proper and which shows respect for the tax dollars of the taxpayers of Canada and for the intention of Parliament when it passes legislation that Crown corporations conduct themselves in a proper way.

We have just voted on three amendments to this legislation which is before us today. I moved two of the amendments. One of those amendments was very straightforward and would have simply required that the procedure which would have been followed by the government for incorporating a new energy Crown corporation would be followed as well for subsidiaries.