## SYNOPSIS OF THE PARISH LINES OF NEW BRUNSWICK.

In the following synopsis, the names of the original parishes are printed in capitals. The changes may be followed in general by the aid of the maps given in this paper (Nos. 35, 39, 1). A reference to contemporary history will show, in practically every case, that the formation of a new parish is the result of the formation or growth of a particular settlement.

## ST. JOHN COUNTY, 1785.

The three original parishes, with the city of St. John, included all of the county, leaving no unassigned lands, the only county, except Kings, in which this was the case.

CITY OF SAINT JOHN, chartered May 18, 1785. Included only the present city south of the valley, with the former town of Carleton, but extended in 1889 to include Portland.

(PORTLAND, 1786. Included all west of the present St. Martin's line (except the city), until Simonds was set off in 1839, which left Portland only as the part (approximately) north-west of Marsh Creek until 1889, when it was united with the city of St. John, causing the disappearance of Portland.)

SAINT MARTINS, 1786. As at present, but including also until 1837 part of Alma now in Albert.

LANCASTER, 1786. Included also Musquash, set off in 1877.

Simonds, 1839. Set off from Portland, as at present.

Musquash, 1877. Set off from Lancaster, as at present,

## WESTMORLAND COUNTY, 1785.

Included Albert until 1845. The original five parishes were old townships of Nova Scotia, adopted with the original boundaries (on which see earlier, page 430, and Maps No. 40, 41). They included only a part of the county, however, and Dorchester, Salisbury and Botsford were erected to include the remainder. An important change in the line separating the northern from the southern tier of parishes took place in 1896, when the due east line of 1827, as shown on Wilkinson and other maps, was changed to the present lines (frontispiece map) which conform more closely to the lines of the original townships.

WESTMORLAND, 1786. The New Brunswick portion (including the greater part) of the old township of Cumberland. Altered in 1827 to the form shown on Wilkinson and on Loggle, where it has its original western boundary, but lacks its northern, and again altered in 1896 to its present form, in which it has its old northern but not its western boundary, for in that year its western part was placed in Sackville.