## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

## THE COMMONS. HOUSE OF

OTTAWA, WEDNESDAY, 15TH FEBRUARY, 1871

The House having met;

A Message was received from His Excellency the Governor General, desiring the immediate attendance of The House in the Senate Chamber :-

The House attended accordingly; and being returned,

Mr. Speaker informed The House, that during the recess he had received communications from several Members notifying him that the following places had severally become vacant, viz:-

Of Brown Chamberlin, Esq., Member for the Electoral District of Missisquoi, by the acceptance of the Office of Queen's Printer, for the Dominion of Canada.

Of Pierre Gabriel Huot, Esq., Member for the Electoral District of Quebec (City) East, by resignation.
Of the Hon. Charles Tupper, C.B., Member for the Electoral District of Cumberland (N-S.), by the acceptance of the Office of President of the Privy Council.

Of Napoléon Casault, Esq., Member for the Electoral District of Bellechasse, by the acceptance of the Office of Judge of the Superior Court for the Province of Quebec.

Of the Hon. A. E. Kierzkowski, Member for the Electoral District of St. Hyacinthe, by decease.

Of the Hon. A. E. Kierzkowski, Member for the Electoral District of St. Hyacinthe, by decease.

Of the Hon. George Adams Archibald, Member for the Electoral District of Colchester (N. S.), by the acceptance of the Office of Lieutenant Governor of the Province of Manitoba.

Of Thomas McCarthy, Esq., Member for the Electoral District of Richelieu, by decease.

Of William M. Caldwell, Esq., Member for the Electoral District of Restigouche (N. B.), by decease; and that he had issued his several Warrants to the Clerk of the Crown in Chancery, to make out new Writs for the Election of the said places respectively.

He also informed The House that during the recess the Clerk had received from the Clerk of the Crown in Chancery, Certificates of the Election and Return of the following Members, viz:

Of Leveret De Veber Chipman, Esq., for the Electoral District of King's (N. S.) Of George B. Baker, Esq., for the Electoral District of Missisquoi.

Of Adolphe Tourangeau, Esq., for the Electoral District of Quebec (City) East.

Of the Hon. Charles Tupper, C. B., for the Electoral District of Cumberland (N. S.) Of Telesphore Fournier, Esq., for the Electoral District of Bellechasse.

Of Louis Delorme, Esq., for the Electoral District of Bellechasse.

Of Louis Delorme, Esq., for the Electoral District of St. Hyacinthe.

Of Frederick M. Pearson, Esq., for the Electoral District of Colchester (N. S.)

Of George Moffatt, Esq., for the Electoral District of Restigouche (N. B.), and

Of Georges Isidore Barthe, Esq., for the Electoral District of Richelieu.