Customs Tariff

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): No. I recognized the Hon. Member for Burlington. If subsequent to my having recognized him he tells me that was an error, then I cannot put the question; I will have to call it six o'clock. If, on the other hand, the Hon. Member for Burlington rose and was duly recognized, it is now too late to call it six o'clock, and I will put the question.

An Hon. Member: He rose.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): Surprise, indeed, the Hon. Member for Burlington rose. The question is as follows: Mr. Cosgrove, seconded by Miss Bégin, moves that Bill C-90—

Mr. Nystrom: Mr. Speaker, I rise on a point of order. If I know the rules correctly, the Hon. Member for Burlington (Mr. Kempling) rose to speak, but then he forgot to speak and someone elso stood up, and if someone else is standing up, then they have the right to the floor.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): All those issues were implicit in the problems raised by the Hon. Member for Comox-Powell River (Mr. Skelly) and by the fact that the Chair sought to understand whether any other Hon. Member sought to be recognized. Once that happened it was no longer possible to receive the motion to see the clock at six o'clock because the other proceeding called "putting the question" had then begun. I do not think it would be improper for the Chair to interrupt the current proceeding on a technicality of that order. Now I have to proceed with the putting of the question. Mr. Cosgrove, seconded by Miss Bégin, moves that Bill C-90, an Act to amend the Customs Tariff and to repeal certain Acts in consequence thereof, be now read a third time and do pass.

Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): Call in the Members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Cosgrove) which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 261)

YEAS

Messrs

(Argenteuil-Papineau)

Duquet Erola (Mrs.)

Evans

Fisher

Flis Foster

Fleming

Francis

Frith

Garant

Gauthier

Gendror

Gimaïel

Gingras

Gourd

Gourde

(Lévis)

Gray Guilbault

Harquail

Herbert

Hudecki

Johnston

Irwin

Joyal

Kaplan

Lachance

Lalonde

Landers

Lapierre

Lapointe

LeBlanc

Leduc

Loiselle

Lumley

Lapointe (Beauce)

(Charlevoix)

Lang Laniel

Lamontagne

Killens (Mrs.)

Henderson

Appolloni (Mrs.) Bachand Beauchamp-Niquet (Mrs.) Bégin (Miss) Berger Blais Blaker Bloomfield Bockstael Bossy Bujold Burghardt Bussières Caccia Campbell (Miss)
(South West Nova) Campbell (Cardigan) Chénier Chrétien Collenette Corbin Corriveau Cosgrove Côté (Mrs.) Cousineau Cullen Daudlin Dawson De Bané de Corneille Demers Deniger Desmarais Dingwall Dionne (Chicoutimi) Dionne (Northumberland-Miramichi) Dubois

MacBain MacEachen MacGuigan Mackasey Macl aren MacLellan Malépart Maltais Marceau Massé Masters McCauley McRae Munro (Hamilton East) Nicholson (Miss) Olivier Ostiguy Ouellet Parent Pelletie Penner Pepin Peterson Portelance Prud'homme Regan (Kenora-Rainy River) Roberts Robinson (Ftohicoke-Lakeshore) Rompkey Rooney Rossi Roy Savard Schrode Smith Tardif Tessier Tobin Tousignant Trudeau Turner

NAYS

Messrs

Althouse Andre Anguish Baker (Nepean-Carleton) Beatty Benjamin Blaikie Blenkarn Bradley Cardiff Carney (Miss) Clark (Yellowhead) (Vancouver Quadra) Cooper Corbett Cossitt (Mrs.) Crombie Crosbie (St. John's West) Darling Deans

Dupont

de Jong
Dick
Domm
Ellis
Elzinga
Epp
Fennell
Fraser
Fretz
Friesen
Fulton
Gamble
Gass
Gilchrist
Greenaway
Gurbin
Gustafson
Halliday
Hamilton
(Qu'Appelle-Moose

Gurbin Gustafson Halliday Hamilton (Qu'Appelle-Moose Mountain) Hamilton (Swift Current-Maple Creek) Hargrave

Hawkes Hees Hnatyshyn Hoydebo Howie Huntington Jarvis Jelinek Jewett (Miss) Kempling Kilgour King Kristiansen Kushner Lambert La Salle Lewis

Watson

Whelan

Weatherhead

Yanakis—132.

Lewis
Lewycky
MacDonald (Miss)
(Kingston and the Islands)
MacDougall
MacKay
Malone
Mazankowski
McCain