1876. A comparison of it with that of 1896, as far as the Synod of the Maritime Provinces is concerned, is intensely interesting, and should be encouraging to all who love our church. Wonderful changes have taken place since the union, but very satisfactory progress has been made in every department of the church's work.

When the roll was called on June 15th, 1875, 109 ministers from the Maritime Provinces answered to their names. Of these 96 belonged to the Presbyterian Church of the Lower Provinces, and 13 to the Church of Scotland. 36 have entered into rest eternal; 26 have removed from the bounds of our Synod to other parts of the great vineyard; 14 have retired from the active duties of the ministry, but live within our bounds and have their names on the Synod roll; 31 are still in charge of congregations in the Maritime Provinces; one is a probationer, and the other is the agent of our church.

Tender memories of the deceased are still fondly cherished. Many of them were prominent pillars in the church. They labored faithfully and successfully, and the fruit of their labors will be gathered by their successors for many years to come. The names of the departed worthies are the following:-Drs. James Bayne, D. B. Blair, Robt. Sedgwick, P. G McGregor, R. F. Burns, A. McKnight, Hugh McLeod, and Revds. John Mc-Kinnon, James Byers, Peter Goodfellow, John J. Baxter, Edward Grant, Geo. Christie, Wm. Duff, John C. Meek, John B. Logan, Samuel Bernard, R. S. Patterson, Alex. Campbell, Wm. R. Frame, Alex. Farquharson, Peter Clarke, Murdock Stewart, William Millen, David Maclise, Robt. Wilson, Samuel Johnson, John Lees, John Munro, James Ross, Alex. Munro, Chas. Fraser, C. E. McLean, Adam McKay, William McMillan, and R J. Cameron. "Seeing we are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us run with patience the race that is set before us."

The first College Board consisted of 24 ministerial members. Of these only four are members of the present Board, viz., Drs. Currie and Forrest, and Messrs. James McLean and A. Simpson.

The first Home Mission Committee consisted of 21 members. Of these there are on the present committee only Messrs. Simpson and McMillian. Rev. Mr. McNeill is the only member of the first Foreign Mission Committee who is on the present