News Release

Communiqué

Department of External Affairs



Ministère des Affaires extérieures

No. 018

February 1, 1989.

THIRD MEETING OF THE COMMONWEALTH COMMITTEE LF

FOREIGN MINISTERS ON SOUTHERN AFRICA

HARARE, FEBRUARY 6-8, 1989

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Right Honourable Joe Clark, announced today that he will chair the third meeting of the Commonwealth Committee of Foreign Ministers on Southern Africa to be held in Harare, Zimbabwe, on February 6-8, 1989.

The Commonwealth Committee was created by the Vancouver Heads of Government Meeting in October 1987 to provide high level impetus and guidance to further Commonwealth objectives on South Africa. It comprises the Foreign Ministers of Australia, Canada, Guyana, India, Nigeria, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe, and is chaired by Canada. The Committee held its first meeting in Lusaka in February 1988, and its second meeting in Toronto in August of 1988.

Ministers will continue to give importance to the widening, tightening and intensifying of Commonwealth sanctions including follow-up to their decisions in Toronto, and will examine, in particular, possible measures to strengthen the arms embargo against South Africa. Commonwealth efforts to reach into South Africa, including initiatives to counteract South African censorship and propaganda will be reviewed.

.../2

Secretary of State for External Affairs Secrétaire d'État aux Affaires extérieures

