- 1857. Decimal currency system adopted. Ottawa named the capital by Her Majesty. Great Western Railway completed.
- 1859. New Westminster, B.C., founded by Colonel Moody.
- 1860. Prince of Wales, now King Edward VII., visited Canada.
- 1861. Civil War in United States.
- 1865, 1866. Confederation agreed upon by the four provinces.
- 1866. Termination of Reciprocity Treaty with United States. First Fenian invasion at Ridgeway, Ont.
- 1867. Dominion inaugurated July 1st.
- 1869. Intercolonial Railway commenced.
- 1870. Manitoba and North-West organized.
- 1871. British Columbia enters the Union. C.P.R. surveys commenced.
- 1873. Prince Edward Island enters Union. Mackenzie administration formed. Sir George Cartier died.
- 1875. North-West Territory separated from Manitoba, to be governed by a council.
- 1876. Intercolonial Railway opened for traffic, Quebec to Halifax. Supreme Court established at Ottawa.
- 1878. Mackenzie Government defeated at the polls.
- 1879. Protective Tariff or "National Policy" adopted.
- 1885. Outbreak in the North-West fomented by Louis Riel. Last spike driven in the C.P.R.
- 1887. First C.P.R. steamer arrives at Vancouver from Yokohama.

 Interprovincial conference held at Quebec.
- 1891. Right Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald died June 6th. Sir John Abbott, premier.
- 1892. Hon. A. Mackenzie died April 7th. Sir A. Campbell died April 24th. Sir John Abbott resigned owing to ill health. Sir John Thompson, premier.
- 1893. Sir John Abbott died.
- 1894. Sir John Thompson died at Windsor Castle. Sir Mackenzie Bowell, premier.
- 1895. Proclamation granting the designation of Yukon, Franklin, Ungava and Mackenzie to these new remote districts. Sault Ste. Marie Canal opened.
- 1896. Sir Mackenzie Bowell resigns the premiership in favor of Sir Chas. Tupper. Defeat of the government. Hon. Wilfrid Laurier, premier.