The Constitution

tion and if, at any time after the expiration of those one hundred and eighty days, the House of Commons again passes the resolution."

- (i) by deleting clause 49 of Part VI and substituting the following therefor:
 - "49. (1) The procedures for amendment prescribed by subsection 45(1) and section 47 may be initiated by either the Senate or House of Commons or by the legislative assembly of a province.
 - (2) A resolution authorizing an amendment made for the purposes of this Part may be revoked at any time before the issue of a proclamation.
- (3) A resolution of dissent made for the purposes of this Part may be revoked at any time before or after the issue of a proclamation."
- (j) by deleting clause 54 of Part VI and substituting the following therefor:
- "54. An amendment to the Constitution of Canada in relation to the following matters may be made only in accordance with the procedure prescribed by section 45(1):
 - (a) The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms;
 - (b) the commitments relating to equalization and regional disparities set out in section 34:
 - (c) the powers of the Senate;
 - (d) the number of members by which a province is entitled to be represented in the Senate;
 - (e) the method of selecting Senators and the residence qualifications of Senators; and
 - (f) the principles of proportionate representation of the provinces in the House of Commons prescribed by the Constitution of Canada."
- (k) by adding after clause 54 of Part VI the following new Clause:
 - "55. An amendment to the Constitution of Canada in relation to the following matters may be made only by proclamation issued by the Governor General under the Great Seal of Canada where so authorized by resolutions of the Senate and the House of Commons and by the legislative assembly of each province:
 - (a) the office of the Queen, the Governor General and the Lieutenant Governor of a province;
 - (b) The right of a province to a number of members in the House of Commons not less than the numbers of Senators representing the province; and
 - (c) any of the provisions of this Part." and
- (1) by deleting clause 63 of Part VIII and substituting the following therefor:
- "63. (1) This Act, or any provision thereof, shall come into force on a day or days to be fixed by proclamation to be issued by the Governor General under the Great Seal of Canada where so authorized no later than July 1, 1983 by resolutions of the legislative assemblies of at least two-thirds of the provinces that have in the aggregate, according to the then latest decennial census, a population of at least fifty per cent of all the provinces.
- (2) A resolution made for the purposes of this section may be revoked before the issue of a proclamation authorized by it."

The House divided on the amendment (Mr. Baker (Nepean-Carleton)) which was negatived on the following division:

• (2240)

(Division No. 59)

YEAS

Messrs.

Andre
Baker
(Nepean-Carleton)
Beatty
Blenkarn
Bosley

Bradley Cardiff Carney (Miss) Clark (Yellowhead) Clarke (Vancouver Quadra) Coates Cook Cooper Corbett

Messrs

Hawkes Crombie Crosby (Halifax West) Hees Huntington Dantzer larvis Darling Jelinek Dick Kempling Dinsdale Kilgour Domm King Korchinski Fllis Elzinga Kushner Ерр Lambert Fennell Lewis MacDonald Forrestall (Miss) Fraser Fretz MacKay Friesen Malone Gamble Mayer Mazankowski Gass Gilchrist Greenaway McCuish McDermid Gurbin Gustafson McGrath Halliday McKenzie Hamilton McKinnon (Qu'Appelle-Moose Mountain) McKnight McLean Hamilton McMillan (Swift Current-Maple Creek) Mitges Munro (Esquimalt-Saanich) Hargrave

Murta Neil Nickerson Nowlan Paproski Patterson Reid (St. Catharines) Roche Schellenberger Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Siddon Spever Stevens Stewart Taylor Thacker Thomson Towers Vankoughnet Wenman Wilson

Wise

Wright-93

NAYS

Messrs.

Daudlin Althouse Dawson Deans Anguish De Bané Appolloni de Corneille (Mrs) de Jong Axworthy Bachand Demers Baker Deniger (Gander-Twillingate) Desmarais Beauchamp-Nique Dingwall (Mrs.) Bégin (Miss) Dionne Benjamin Dionne Berger Blackburn Blaikie Dubois Blais Duclos Blaker Dupont Bloomfield Dupras Bockstael Duquet Bossy Breau Broadbent Ethier Evans Bujold Burghardt Fergusor Russières Fisher Fleming Caccia Campbell Flis Foster (Cardigan) Campbell Fox Francis (Miss) (South West Nova) Campbell Fulton (LaSalle) Garant Gauthier Chénier Gendron Chrétien Gimaïel Collenette Gingras Comtois Gourd Corbin Gray Corriveau

Côté (Mrs.)

Cousineau

Cullen

Cyr

Hopkins Hovdebo Hudecki Irwin Isabelle Ittinuar Jewett (Miss) Johnston Joyal Kaplan Keeper Kelly (Chicoutimi) Killens (Mrs.) Knowles (Northumberland-Kristianser Lachance Miramichi) Lalonde Lamontagne Landers Lang Laniel Erola (Mrs.) Lapierre Lapointe (Charlevoix) Lapointe (Beauce) LeBlanc Lefebyre Lewycky Loiselle Lonsdale Lumley MacBain MacEachen MacGuigan Mackasey MacLaren MacLellan Malépart Guilbault Maltais Manly Harquail Henderson Marceau Massé Herbert

Hervieux-Payette

(Mrs.)

Masters

McRae

McCauley