## 4. NORTH ATLANTIC TREATY ORGANIZATION (1949)

- North Atlantic Council (1949). Permanent Representative: L. D. Wilgress; Minister: A. F. W. Plumptre; Military Adviser: Maj. Gen. J. D. B. Smith; Counsellor:
- M. Cadieux.
- North Atlantic Military Representatives Committee (1949). Rear Admiral H. G. DeWolf.

## 5. UNITED NATIONS (1945)

- 1. General Assembly (Canada, as a member of the United Nations, is represented in the General Assembly which meets at regular sessions. Its representatives are appointed by the Government for each session).
  - Interim Committee of the General Assembly (1947). Representative: L. B. Pearson, Secretary of State for External Affairs; Alternate: D. M. Johnson, Permanent Delegate of Canada to the United Nations, New York.
  - ii. Board of Auditors. Watson Sellar, Auditor General of Canada.
  - iii. Collective Measures Committee (1950). D. M. Johnson, Permanent Delegate of Canada to the United Nations, New York; Alternate: J. George, Permanent Delegation of Canada to the United Nations, New York.
- 2. Security Council. (Canada is not at present a member of the Security Council).
  - Disarmament Commission (1952).
    D. M. Johnson, Permanent Delegate of Canada to the United Nations, New York; Alternate: J. George, Permanent Delegation of Canada to the United Nations, New York.
- 3. Economic and Social Council (Canada's membership in the Council expired on December 31, 1952).

## **Functional Commissions:**

i. Fiscal Commission. A. K. Eaton, Assistant Deputy Minister of Finance.

- ii. Statistical Commission. H. Marshall, Dominion Statistician.
- iii. Commission on Narcotic Drugs.
- iv. Population Commission. J. T. Marshall, Bureau of Statistics.
- 4. Special Bodies of the Principal Organs:
  - i. United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund (1946) Executive Board: Mrs. D. B. Sinclair, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister of Welfare, Department of National Health and Welfare.
  - ii. Drug Supervisory Body. Col. C. H. I. Sharman (a Canadian elected by the Narcotics Commission to the Drug Supervisory Body).
  - iii. United Nations Korean Réconstruction Agency Advisory Committee (1950): Delegate: D. M. Johnson (Chairman), Permanent Delegate of Canada to the United Nations, New York.
- 5. International Court of Justice. (The parties of the Statutes of the Court automatically include all members of the United Nations. The Court consists of fifteen judges, in no way representatives of their country of origin, elected for a nine year term of office by the General Assembly and the Security Council voting independently. A Canadian citizen, John Erskine Reid, presently sits on the Court, his term of office due to expire in 1958).

## 6. UNITED NATIONS SPECIALIZED AGENCIES

- 1. International Labour Organization (1919)\*
  - i. General Conference. (Canada sends delegations comprising two Government Members and one Member each representing management and labour together with their advisers to each session of the Conference which meets at least annually. Delegations to the conferences are not permanent and are appointed for each session).
- Governing Body. Dr. A. MacNamara, Deputy Minister of Labour. (Canada holds a seat as one of the States of chief industrial importance).
- 2. Food and Agriculture Organization (1945)
  - i. Conference. (Canada, as a member of FAO sends a representative, together with his alternate and advisers to each session of the Conference which meets bi-annually. Canada's representative

<sup>\*</sup> The Specialized Agencies marked with an asterisk set up from time to time, through their main organs, standing bodies, committees or commissions, in which Canada may or may not be invited to participate. Because of the large number of such bodies, committees or commissions to which Canada is a party, and their relative importance, it has been felt that they might be excluded from this list.