orating of the seasons, and is to many, the great charm of the year.

Government.

Manitoba has a form of government similar to that of the other Provinces of the Dominion. The Legislature consists of a Legislative Council, composed of seven members; and a Legislative Assembly of twenty-four members.

The Executive consists of the Lieutenant Governor, a Secretary of State, Provincial Treasurer, Minister of Public Works, President of the Council, and Attorney General. The Judicial power is vested in a Supreme Court, District Court, and Justices of the Peace.

Law of Descent.

When a person in this Province dies, possessing lands, &c., which have not been otherwise lawfully devised, by an Act passed in the first session of the First Legislature, his property descends, subject to his debts—1st, in equal shares to his children and to the lawful issue of any deceased child. If without children, to his widow during her life, and after her decease, to his father, and directly to his father when no child or widow is left. 3rd. If no child or father be left, then to his widow during her natural life; and after her decease, in equal shares, to his brothers and sisters; and so on to more distant relatives—the law regulating the descent of real property in a regular and equitable manner.

Public Lands.

The whole area of the Province by system of survey