Capital Punishment

[English]

CAPITAL PUNISHMENT

MOTION THAT DEBATE BE NOT FURTHER ADJOURNED

Hon. Don Mazankowski (Deputy Prime Minister and President of the Privy Council): Mr. Speaker, I move, seconded by the Hon. Minister of Agriculture (Mr. Wise):

That the debate on the motion in the name of the Deputy Prime Minister and President of the Privy Council (Government Business No. 5) respecting capital punishment and any amendments thereto, shall not be further adjourned.

[Translation]

Mr. Speaker: Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

Mr. Speaker: All those in favour will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those against will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more that five Members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion, which was agreed to on the following division:

• (1140)

(Langelier)

(Division No. 220)

YEAS

Members

Andre	Crosby	Gray
Attewell	(Halifax West)	(Bonaventure—Îles-de
Belsher	Darling	la-Madeleine)
Bernier	Della Noce	Greenaway
Bissonnette	Desjardins	Grisé
Blais	Domm	Gustafson
Blenkarn	Duguay	Halliday
Blouin	Edwards	Hamelin
Bourgault	Ellis	Hamilton
Boyer	Fennell	
Brightwell	Ferland	Hardey
Cadieux	Fontaine	Hawkes
Caldwell	Forrestall	Hees
Charest		Hicks
Chartrand	Fraleigh	Holtmann
Collins	Fretz	Howie
Comeau	Friesen	James
	Gagnon	Jardine
Cook	Gass	Jelinek
Cooper	Gérin	Jepson
Corbett	Gervais	Joneas
Cossitt	Girard	Jourdenais
Côté	Gottselia	Kelleher

Kempling

Kindy	Mitges	Scowen
King	Nicholson	Shields
Ladouceur	(Niagara Falls)	Sparrow
Lanthier	Nickerson	Speyer
Lawrence	Nowlan	Stackhouse
Leblanc	Oberle	Stewart
Lesick	O'Neil	Tardif
Lewis	Oostrom	(Charlesbourg)
MacKay	Pennock	Taylor
Mantha	Pietz	Thacker
Marin	Porter	Towers
Martin	Price	Turner
Mazankowski	Reimer	(Ottawa—Carleton)
McCain	Ricard	Van De Walle
McCrossan	St. Germain	Wilson
McCuish	St-Julien	(Swift Current
McDermid	Scott	-Maple Creek)
McInnes	(Victoria—Haliburton)	Winegard
McKenzie	Scott	Wise
Minaker	(Hamilton-Wentworth)	Witer—119

NAYS

Members

Allmand	Fulton	Nicholson
Althouse	Gagliano	(Trinity)
Angus	Garneau	Nunziata
Axworthy	Gauthier	Nystrom
Baker	Gray	Orlikow
Benjamin	(Windsor West)	Ouellet
Berger	Grondin	Parry
Blackburn	Guilbault	Penner
(Brant)	(Saint-Jacques)	Pépin
Blais-Grenier	Неар	Prud'homme
Boudria	Henderson	Redway
Broadbent	Hopkins	Riis
Caccia	Hovdebo	Robichaud
Cassidy	Johnston	Robinson
Copps	(Saint-Henri-	Rodriguez
de Corneille	Westmount)	Rossi
de Jong	Keeper	Skelly
Dingwall	Langdon	Tobin
Epp	Lapierre	Toupin
(Thunder Bay-	Mailly	Waddell—59
Nipigon)	McCurdy	Waddell 57
Finestone	Murphy	
Foster	Murta	

• (1210)

[English]

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

Mr. Gauthier: Mr. Speaker, although I regret the closure procedure, I think, as you said this morning, it is quite within our rules. I wonder if the Government and other Members of the House would give unanimous consent to sit through lunch hour to allow some of our Members who have not spoken a chance to speak, perhaps, in that additional hour?

Mr. Speaker: The House has heard the suggestion. Is there unanimous consent?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Mr. Gray (Windsor West): Mr. Speaker, I want the record to show very clearly that even with the hour that will be given to us by sitting through lunch hour, we still would not have the opportunity to hear all those who want to be heard on this subject because of the closure motion which was just adopted.