#### Messrs.

Masniuk

McGrath

McKenzie

McKinley

Mitges

Muir

Neil

Murta

Nielsen

Nowlan

Nystrom

Oberle

Orlikov

Ritchie

Roche

Scott

Stanfield

Stevens

Symes

Towers

Wenman

Whittaker

Marchand

Martin

McIsaac

McRae

O'Connell

Olivier

Ouellet

Parent

Pearsall

Penner

Pinard

Poulin

Railton

Roberts

Robinson

Roy (Laval)

Sharp

Smith

Stollery

Tessier

Trudel Turner

Whelan

Young-98.

Wood

Trudeau

Sauvé (Mrs.) Savard

(Saint-Jean)

Roy (Timmins)

Raines

Philbrook

Prud'homme

Richardson

Milne Nicholson (Miss)

Woolliams-75

Rodriguez

Paproski Pattersor

Pigott (Mrs.)

Schellenberger

McKinnon

Mazankowski

Balfour Beaudoin Blackburn Brisco Cadieu Caquette (Villeneuve) Coates Cossitt Crouse Darling Diefenbaker Dinsdale Dionne (Kamouraska) Douglas (Nanaimo-Cowichan-The Islands) Elzinga Epp Forrestall Friesen Gauthier (Roberval) Gilbert Gillies Grafftey Halliday

Hamilton (Qu'Appelle-Moose Mountain) Hamilton (Swift Current-Maple Creek) Hees Hnatyshyn Holmes Huntington Jarvis Johnston Kempling Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Lambert (Bellechasse) La Salle Lawrence Leggatt MacDonald (Egmont) MacDonald (Miss) (Kingston and the Islands) Marshall

# NAYS

#### Messrs

#### Abbott Andras (Port Arthur) Appolloni (Mrs.) Baker (Gander-Twillingate) Basford Bégin (Miss) Blouin Boulanger Buchanan Bussières Caccia Cafik Campbell (Miss) (South Western Nova) Campbell (LaSalle-Émard-Côte Saint-Paul) Caron Chrétien Collenette Comtois Corbin Corriveau Cullen Cyr Daudlin De Bané Demers Dionne (Northumberland-Miramichi) Douglas (Bruce-Grey) Duclos Ethier Fleming

Foster Francis Gauthier (Ottawa-Vanier) Gillespie Goodale Goyer Guay (St. Boniface) Haidasz Harouail Herbert Holt (Mrs.) Hopkins Horner Isabelle Jamieson Kaplan Lajoie Lalonde Lamontagne Landers Langlois Lapointe Leblanc (Laurier) Lefebvre Lessard Loiselle (Chambly) Lumley MacDonald (Cardigan) MacEachen MacFarlane MacGuigan Maine

## • (1542)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost.

Marceau

# Order Paper Questions QUESTIONS ON THE ORDER PAPER

### [Translation]

(Questions answered orally are indicated by an asterisk.)

Mr. Yvon Pinard (Parliamentary Secretary to President of Privy Council): Mr. Speaker, the following questions will be answered today: Nos. 136, 1,090, 1,169, 1,239 1,271, 1,292, 1,305 and 1,316.

I ask, Mr. Speaker, that the remaining questions be allowed to stand.

# [Text]

### DEEP SEA LOBSTER FISHERY

# Question No. 136-Mr. Crouse:

1. What are the names of the Canadian companies who have licenses to fish for deep sea lobsters and how many traps is each permitted to use on a yearly basis?

2. When deep sea lobster traps were found during the Spring of 1977, within the 50-mile limit, in violation of lobster fishing regulations, to which company did they belong?

3. Was a decision taken by the Minister of Fisheries to move the traps outside the 50-mile limit, rather than destroy them and, if so, were the traps put up for sale or were they returned to their original owner?

4. Were the lobsters found in the traps sold and the proceeds given on a pro rata basis to the inshore fishermen and, if not, were they (a) returned to the sea (b) retained by the owner of the illegally set traps?

Hon. Roméo LeBlanc (Minister of Fisheries and the Environment): 1. The following Canadian companies are licensed to fish for deep sea lobsters: (a) Sable Fish Packers Ltd.; (b) Port La Tour Fisheries Ltd.; (c) Armdale Fisheries Ltd.; (d) Donna Rae Ltd.; (e) C. W. MacLeod Fisheries Ltd. Each licence is authorized to fish 1,000 traps during a nine month season.

2. At the time of the incident, there was no requirement to mark buoys or traps for identification, therefore ownership could not be proved.

3. The traps were reset outside the 50-mile limit under the direction of fishery officers. The traps were not put up for sale nor returned to the owner since ownership could not be proved. The traps were emptied and reset outside the 50-mile limit.

4. The lobsters found in the traps were returned to the sea in the area in which they were caught under the supervision of two fishery officers.

## GRANTS TO NATIVE ASSOCIATIONS IN NEWFOUNDLAND

# Question No. 1,090-Mr. Marshall:

Of the \$8.4 million provided by the Department of the Secretary of State for care funding of native associations, what was Newfoundland's allocation?

Hon. John Roberts (Secretary of State): Secretary of State: The Secretary of State Department disbursed the following amounts to native associations in Newfoundland in 1976-77: Indian and Metis Association of Newfoundland/Labrador, \$215,176.24; Labrador Inuit Association, \$131,290.00; Cartwright Interim Committee, \$10,473.00. Total, \$356,939.24.