Government Organization Act, 1970

Mr. Deputy Speaker: The question is on the amendment to the main motion. All those in favour of the amendment will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the amendment (Mr. McGrath) which was negatived on the following division:

• (4:20 p.m.)

Alexander Asselin Baldwin Beaudoin Bell Benjamin Bigg Brewin Burton Cadieu Carter Code Comeau Crouse Danforth Diefenbaker Dionne Downey Fairweather Fortin Gauthier Gilbert Gleave Godin Grills Gundlock Hales Harding Harkness Horner Howard (Skeena) Howe Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Korchinski Lambert (Bellechasse) Lambert (Edmonton West)

Allmand Badanai Barrett Basford Béchard Beer Benson Blair

YEAS Messrs:

Lanrise Latulippe Lundrigan MacInnis (Cape Breton-East Richmond) MacInnis (Mrs.) MacLean Macquarrie MacRae McCleave McCutcheon McGrath McIntosh McKinley Mather Mazankowski Monteith Moore Noble Nystrom Orlikow Paproski Ricard Ritchie Rodrigue Ryan Rynard Simpson Skoberg Southam Stewart (Marquette) Thomas (Moncton) Thomson (Battleford-Kindersley) Valade Winch Woolliams Yewchuk-73.

NAYS Messrs:

Boulanger Breau Buchanan Caccia Chappell Chrétien Corbin Corbin Corriveau Côté (Longueuil) Crossman Cullen Cyr Davis Deachman De Bané Drury Duhé Dupras Duquet Émard Faulkner Forest Forget Foster Francis Gendron Gervais Gibson Gillespie Goode Goyer Gray Greene Guay (St. Boniface) Guilbault Harries Hogarth Hopkins Howard (Okanagan Boundary) Jamieson Jerome Kaplan Lachance Laflamme Laing (Vancouver South) Lang (Saskatoon-Humboldt) Laniel La Salle Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc (Rimouski) Lessard (LaSalle) Lessard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Lind Loiselle

Division Messrs: MacEachen MacGuigan Mackasey McBride McNulty Mahoney Major Marceau Marchand (Langelier) Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) Morison Munro Noël Orange Osler Otto Penner Pepin Perrault Portelance Pringle Prud'homme Reid Richardson Roberts Robinson Rochon Rock Roy (Timmins) Roy (Laval) Sharp Smith (Saint-Jean) Stafford Stanbury Stewart (Cochrane) Sulatycky Sullivan Thomas (Maisonneuve-Rosemont) Tolmie Trudel Turner (London East) Watson Whelan Whicher Whiting Yanakis—108.

• (4:40 p.m.)

Mr. Stanley Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre): Mr. Speaker, before the motion for third reading of this bill is put and a final decision is taken, there are a few additional words I should like to say and there is another amendment which I should like to move.

Some hon. Members: Oh!

Mr. Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre): Hansard has developed an interesting mechanism. When there is laughter, Hansard says "Oh, oh!" When there is applause, Hansard says "Hear, hear!" I think Hansard should develop a means of indicating a groan, such as we have just heard.

This bill was given first reading in the House of Commons on December 9, 1970, so it has been in the parliamentary mill for quite a while. By the time it gets through the other place almost six months will have gone by. The government does a good deal of complaining