The SPEAKER: Shall this motion pass?

Hon. Sir JOHN A. MACDONALD: Lost.

Thomson (Welland) Thompson (Haldimand) Tremblay Trow

White (Halton) Wilkes

Young (Waterloo South)-76. Young (Montreal West)

NAYS

Messrs.

(Cries of "Lost" from the Government side, and "Carried" from the Opposition.)

The SPEAKER: I think the motion is lost.

(Cries of "Yeas and Nays" and "Lost" and "Carried".)

No person rising to speak.

The SPEAKER: Let the members be called in.

After the members were called in The SPEAKER again read the motion in English, and the Clerk in French.

Mr. MACKAY rose to speak.

The SPEAKER: No debate is allowed after the members are called in.

The members were called and a vote taken, resulting as follows:-

YEAS Messrs

Anglin Archibald Bain Béchard Bergin Blain Blake Bourassa Bowman Boyer Buell Burpee (Sunbury) Cartwright Casey Casgrain Cauchon Charlton Church Cook Cutler Delorme De Saint-Georges Dorion (Drummond-Arthabaska)

Dorion (Napierville) Edgar Findlay Fiset Fleming Forbes Fournier Galbraith Geoffrion Gibson Gillies Harvey Higinbotham Holton Horton Huntington Jetté Laflamme Joly Mackenzie Mercier Mills Metcalfe Oliver Pâquet Paterson Pearson Pelletier Pickard Pozer Prévost Richard (Mégantic) Richards

Ross (Middlesex West) Ross (Durham East) Ross (Wellington Centre) Ross (Prince Edward)

Rymal Scatcherd Smith (Peel) Snider Taschereau Almon Archambault Baby Baker Beaty Beaubien Bellerose Benoit Brooks Bowell Brown Burpee (St. John) Cameron (Cardwell) Campbell Carling Caron Carter Chipman Chisholm Coffin Costigan Crawford Cunningham Currier Dalv Dewdney De Cosmos Domville Dormer Doull Dugas Duguay Farrow Fortin Gaudet Gendron Gibbs (Ontario North) Gibbs (Ontario South)

Glass Grant Grover Hagar Haggart Harwood Hincks (Sir Francis) Howe Jones Keller Killam Kirkpatrick Langevin Lacerte Langlois Lantier Le Vesconte Lewis

Little Macdonald (Sir John A.) McDonald (Antigonish) McDonald (Cape Breton) McDonald (Pictou) McDonnell (Inverness) Mailloux MacKay Masson Mathieu

McAdam McGreevy Mitchell Merritt Moffatt Morrison Nathan Nelson O'Connor Palmer Pinsonneault Pope Price Ray Robitaille Robinson Rochester Ross (Champlain) Ross (Victoria) Ryan Savary Schultz Scriver Shibley Smith (Westmorland) Smith (Selkirk) Stephenson Staples

Thompson (Cariboo) Tillev Tobin Tourangeau Tupper Wallace (Albert) Wallace (Norfolk South) White (Hastings East) Wright (Ottawa County)

Wright (Pontiac)-107

The result was announced amid long continued and most enthusiastic cheering from the Government benches.

The motion was then declared lost.