About Bureaus

Bureaus generally fall within one of three categories: functional bureaus; geographic bureaus; and core bureaus which support the whole Department.

Functional Bureaus

Functional bureaus are the primary centres responsible for policy formulation, program planning and the co-ordination of trade, economic and political relations. They specialize in matters such as security, legal affairs, trade and the environment.

Geographic Bureaus

Eight geographic bureaus manage Canada's relations with specific countries and regions. Each bureau has two components — Headquarters in Ottawa, where policies and programs are developed — and missions abroad. The bureaus are:

- Africa
- Middle East and North Africa
- North Asia and Pacific
- South and Southeast Asia
- European Union, North and West Europe
- Central, East and South Europe
- Latin America and Caribbean
- United States

Core Bureaus

Geographic and functional bureaus are supported by bureaus that perform activities for the entire Department such as protocol, policy planning, communications and corporate services such as the Office of the Inspector General and Audit and Evaluation.