REPORT OF THE CANADIAN DELEGATES TO THE

NINTH ASSEMBLY OF THE LEAGUE OF NATIONS

To His Excellency the Governor General in Council:

The Ninth Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the League of Nations was held in Geneva from September 3 to September 26, 1928.

ORGANIZATION

Delegates from fifty States were present, the increase of one over the number represented at the preceding Assembly being due to the decision of Spain, which had given notice of withdrawal from the League in September, 1926, to continue as a member. No representatives were in attendance from Brazil, Bolivia, Honduras and Peru, but Argentina sent an observer. Notification of the reentry of Costa Rica to the League was received during the closing days of the Assembly, and a definite decision on the part of Argentina to withdraw from membership in the League was registered at the same time.

The value attached to the annual meeting at Geneva by the Governments of the States Members is evidenced by the composition of the various delegations, there being present four prime ministers, two chancellors, and no less than sixteen foreign ministers. Both Sir Austen Chamberlain and Dr. Stresemann were unfortunately unable to be present, owing to illness.

Canada's delegation was headed by the Prime Minister and Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Right Hon. W. L. Mackenzie King; the other delegates were the Hon. Raoul Dandurand, Leader of the Government in the Senate, and the Hon. Charles A. Dunning, Minister of Railways and Canals; while O. D. Skelton, Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs; the Hon. Phillippe Roy, Commissioner General of Canada in Paris; and W. A. Riddell, Dominion of Canada Advisory Officer accredited to the League of Nations, acted as substitute delegates.

The election of the President of the Assembly, the six Vice-Presidents, and the chairman of the six committees, who together constitute the General Committee of the Assembly, resulted as follows:—

President

M. Herluf Zahle (Denmark)

Vice-Presidents

M. Adatci (Japan).

M. Briand (France).

M. Müller (Germany).

Lord Cushendun (Great Britain)

Mr. Mackenzie King (Canada).

Mgr. Seipel (Austria).