# Established Programs Financing Messrs.

Frith

Garant

Gauthier

Gimaïel

Gingras

Gourde

Grav

(Lévis)

Guilbault

Harquail

Herbert

Henderson

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Guilbault): The Chair is of the opinion that the motion is acceptable. Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Guilbault): All those in favour will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Guilbault): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Guilbault): In my opinion the navs have it.

And more than five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Guilbault): Call in the Members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Waddell), which was negatived on the following division:

## (Division No. 13)

### YEAS

#### Messrs

Althouse	Fraser	McKingit
Andre	Fretz	McLean
Anguish	Fulton	McMillan
Beatty	Gamble	Miller
Benjamin	Gilchrist	Mitchell (Ms.)
Blackburn	Greenaway	Mitges
Blaikie	Gurbin	Mulroney
Bosley	Gustafson	Munro
Bradley	Halliday	(Esquimalt-Saanich)
Carney (Miss)	Hargrave	Murphy
Clark	Hawkes	Neil
(Yellowhead)	Hees	Nickerson
Clark	Hnatyshyn	Nielsen
(Brandon-Souris)	Hovdebo	Nowlan
Clarke	Howie	Nystrom
(Vancouver Quadra)	Huntington	Orlikow
Coates	Jarvis	Patterson
Cook	Jewett (Ms.)	Reid
Cooper	Keeper	(St. Catharines)
Cossitt (Mrs.)		Roche
Crombie	Kempling Kilgour	Scott
Crosbie	Knowles	(Victoria-Haliburton)
		Shields
(St. John's West)	Lambert	Siddon
Crosby	La Salle	Skelly
(Halifax West)	Lawrence	Speyer
Crouse	Lewis	Stewart
Dantzer	Lewycky	
Darling	MacDonald (Miss)	Taylor Thacker
Deans	(Kingston and the Islands)	
de Jong	MacDougall	Thomson
Dick	Mayer	Towers
Domm	Mazankowski	Waddell
Ellis	McCain	Wenman
Epp	McDermid	Wright
Fennell	McKenzie	Young—98.
Forrestall	McKinnon	

NAYS

#### Messrs

ppolloni (Mrs.) kworthy	Baker
	Bégin (Miss)
chand	Berger

Blaker Bloomfield Bockstael

McKnight

Bujold Burghardt Bussières Campbell (Miss) (South West Nova) Campbell (LaSalle) (Cardigan) Comtois Corriveau Cullen Daudlin De Rané de Corneille Demers

Deniger Desmarais Dingwall Dion Dionne (Chicoutimi) Dionne (Northumberland-Miramichi) Dubois Dupras Duquet Erola (Mrs.) Ethier

Evans

Fisher

Foster

Fox

Ferguson

Hervieux-Pavette (Mrs.) Hopkins Irwin Isabelle Ittinuar Johnston Joyal Kaplan Kelly Killens (Mrs.) Lachance Lalonde Lamontagne Landers Laniel Lapointe (Charlevoix) Lapointe (Requice) LeBlanc Leduc Lefebvre Loiselle Lumley MacBain MacGuigan Mackasey

Marceau Massé McCauley McRae Munro (Hamilton East) Nicholson (Miss) Ostiguy Ouellet Penner Pepin Peterson Pinard Portelance Prud'homme Regan (Kenora-Rainy River) Robinson (Etobicoke-Lakeshore) Rompkey Roy Savard Schrode Simmons Smith Tardif Tessier Tobin Tousignant Trudeau Turner Watson Weatherhead

Yanakis-115

Macl aren

Maltais

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost. At this point the Chair is in the hands of the House. Shall we proceed to Question Period?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Mr. Speaker: Unless there is unanimous consent not to do so, we will proceed to Question Period. The Chair proposes 45 minutes of questions, which would be to 3.15 p.m.

Mr. Pinard: First of all, Mr. Speaker, you were seeking unanimous consent to put the main motion. We certainly do not object on this side. If there is no objection then we would obviously agree, but I suggest consent is required that Question Period last 45 minutes because under the rules it should stop at three o'clock. I received this request from the House Leader of the Official Opposition earlier and I told him that certainly we would agree to a 45-minute Question Period provided he understands that if some Ministers had previous commitments they would be free to leave.

Mr. Nielsen: That is accurate, Mr. Speaker. We would have no objection to dealing with the main motion now on the condition, as I interpret the remarks of the Government House Leader, that we could have 45 minutes. We clearly understand there may be commitments which have to be made.

Mr. Deans: Mr. Speaker, I want to be clear on exactly what we are agreeing to. If the main motion is put now, there will be a further division. Does that mean that we will then, at the end of the division, have 45 minutes for Question Period?