## SECOND PROTOCOL AMENDING THE TREATY OF AMITY AND COOPERATION IN SOUTHEAST ASIA

The Government of Brunei Darussalam

The Government of the Kingdom of Cambodia

The Government of the Republic of Indonesia

The Government of the Lao People's Democratic Republic

The Government of Malaysia

The Government of the Union of Myanmar

The Government of the Republic of the Philippines

The Government of the Republic of Singapore

The Government of the Kingdom of Thailand

The Government of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam

The Government of Papua New Guinea

Hereinafter referred to as the High Contracting Parties:

**DESIRING** to ensure that there is appropriate enhancement of cooperation with all peace-loving nations, both within and outside Southeast Asia and, in particular, neighboring States of the Southeast Asia region;

**CONSIDERING** Paragraph 5 of the preamble of the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, done at Denpasar, Bali, on 24 February 1976 (hereinafter referred to as the Treaty of Amity) which refers to the need for cooperation with all peace-loving nations, both within and outside Southeast Asia, in the furtherance of world peace, stability and harmony.

## HEREBY AGREE TO THE FOLLOWING:

## Article I

Article 18, Paragraph 3, of the Treaty of Amity shall be amended to read as follows:

"States outside Southeast Asia may also accede to this Treaty with the consent of all the States in Southeast Asia, namely, Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Vietnam."