Table 1. The States of Nigeria

State	Capital City	Estimated Population* (millions)
Anambra	Bunugu	5.2
Bauchi	Bauchi	4.2
Bendel	Benin	4.8
Benue	Makurdi	3.2
Borno	Maiduguri	5.6
Cross River	Calabar	4.8
Gongola	Yola	4.6
Imo	Owerri	7.0
Kano	Kano	10.4
Kaduna	Kaduna	6.8
Kwara	llorin	2.2
Lagos	Ikeja	3.6
Niger	Minna	2.0
Ogun	Abeokuta	3.2
Ondo	Akure	4.8
Оуо	Ibadan	9.0
Plateau	Jos	3.2
Rivers	Port Harcourt	2.8
Sokoto	Sokoto	7.6

Total

95.0

* These population figures are based on the 1979 voter registration survey which preceded the presidential elections. World Bank estimates of the total population are substantially lower at 83 million for 1981.

General Information

Language — English is the official and commercial language of Nigeria. There are however, about 200 indigenous languages. Hausa and Fulani are common in the north while Yoruba is widely spoken in the west and Ibo in the east. Other major languages are Tiv, Kanuri, Edo, Urhobo, Itsekiri, Ijaw and Efik.

Religion — Nigeria practices freedom of religion. An estimated 47 per cent of the people are Moslems, a religion which is particularly dominant in the north. A diverse range of Christian denominations are