PRAYERS.

The Honourable Senator Tanner, from the Committee of Selection appointed to nominate Senators to serve on the several Standing Committees for the present Session, presented their first Report:—

The same was then read by the Clerk as follows:-

WEDNESDAY, 18th January, 1939.

The Committee of Selection appointed to nominate Senators to serve on the several Standing Committees for the present Session, have the honour to report herewith the following list of Senators selected by them to serve on each of the following Standing Committees, namely:—

Joint Committee on the Library

The Honourable the Speaker, the Honourable Senators Aylesworth, Sir Allen, Beaubien, Cantley, Chapais, Sir Thomas, Fauteux, Gillis, Gordon, Griesbach, Laird, Lambert, Logan, McLennan, O'Connor, Prévost, Taylor and Wilson (Rockcliffe)—17.

Joint Committee on Printing

The Honourable Senators Bourgeois, Chapais, Sir Thomas, Dennis, Donnelly, Fallis, Graham, Green, Haig, Harmer, Horsey, Macdonald (Cardigan), McDonald (Shediac), McLennan, Moraud, Mullins, Parent, Pope, Prévost, Sinclair, Taylor and White—21.

Joint Committee on the Restaurant

The Honourable the Speaker, the Honourable Senators Beaubien, Hardy, McMeans, Mullins, Robinson and Taylor—7.

Standing Orders

The Honourable Senators Bourgeois, Buchanan, Coté, Duff, Hugessen, Jones, Macdonald (St. Peters), Macdonell and White—9.

Banking and Commerce

The Honourable Senators Aylesworth, Sir Allen, Ballantyne, Beaubien, Black, Blondin, Coté, Dandurand, Dennis, Donnelly, Farris, Gordon, Graham, Griesbach, Hardy, Horsey, Hugessen, Hughes, King, Laird, L'Esperance, Little, Lynch-Staunton, McGuire, McLennan, McMeans, McRae, Meighen, Michener, Moraud, Parent, Raymond, Rhodes, Riley, Robinson, Sharpe, Sinclair, Smith (Wentworth), Tanner, Taylor, Webster, White and Wilson (Sorel)—42.

Railways, Telegraphs and Harbours

The Honourable Senators Ballantyne, Barnard, Beaubien, Black, Bourque, Buchanan, Calder, Cantley, Copp, Dandurand, Dennis, Duff, Farris, Gillis, Gordon, Graham, Green, Griesbach, Haig, Hardy, Harmer, Horner, Hugessen, Jones, Lacasse, Laird, Lambert, L'Espérance, MacArthur, Marcotte, McDonald (Shediac), McGuire, McLennan, McRae, Meighen, Michener, Molloy, Moraud, Murdock, O'Connor, Parent, Pope, Rainville, Raymond, Robinson, Sharpe, Spence, Sutherland, Turgeon and Webster—50.

Miscellaneous Private Bills

The Honourable Senators Aylesworth, Sir Allen, Barnard, Black, Cantley, Duff, Fauteux, Griesbach, Harmer, Lambert, Léger, Lynch-Staunton, Marshall, McGuire, McMeans, McRae, Mullins, Parent, Quinn, Rainville, Raymond, Sauvé, Smith (Victoria-Carleton), Spence, Tanner and Wilson (Sorel)—25.