The Address

In this case it is the deficit.

November 19, 1984

-is put forth as the number one problem. The causes of inflation are seen as workers' wages, government spending, and low productivity rather than monopoly control of prices.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): Order. It being six o'clock p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 12(3) the House will now proceed to the taking of the deferred division on the amendment.

Mr. James, seconded by Ms. Jacques, moves:

That the following Address be presented to Her Excellency the Governor General of Canada:

To Her Excellency the Right Honourable Jeanne Sauvé, a Member of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada, Chancellor and Principal Companion of the Order of Canada, Chancellor and Commander of the Order of Canada, Chancellor and Commander of the Order of Military Merit, upon whom has been conferred the Canadian Forces' Decoration, Governor General and Commander-in-Chief of Canada.

MAY IT PLEASE YOUR EXCELLENCY:

We, Her Majesty's most loyal and dutiful subjects, the House of Commons of Canada, in Parliament assembled, beg leave to offer our humble thanks to Your Excellency for the gracious Speech which Your Excellency has addressed to both Houses of Parliament.

Mr. Allmand, seconded by Mrs. Pépin moves:

That the following be added to the Address:

But this House regrets that your advisors not only failed to make open government a high priority but also, in their actions, have sought to reverse the direction of previous administrations by severely restricting the availability of information on decision-making in government and by attempting to inhibit access to both the elected and non-elected participants in that process.

Call in the Members.

The House divided on the amendment (Mr. Allmand) which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 2)

YEAS

Messrs

Allmand	Blaikie	Foster
Althouse	Boudria	Frith
Axworthy	Caccia	Fulton
Baker	Cassidy	Gauthier
Benjamin	Deans	Gray
Berger	de Jong	(Windsor West)
Blackburn	Epp	Guilbault
(Brant)	(Thunder Bay-Nipigon)	(Saint-Jacques)
		Henderson

Messrs

lopkins	Lapierre	Orlikow
lovdebo	MacLellan	Ouellet
sabelle	Marchi	Robinson
ohnston	Mitchell (Ms.)	Rompkey
(Saint-Henri-Westmount)	Nicholson (Miss)	Rossi
aplan	(Trinity)	Skelly
eeper	Nunziata	Turner
angdon	Nystrom	(Vancouver Quadra)—42

NAYS

Messrs

Andre	Ерр	Mitges
Attewell	(Provencher)	Moore
Beatty	Fennell	Murta
Belsher	Ferland	Nielsen
Bertrand (Mrs.)	Fontaine	Oberle
Bissonnette	Forrestall	O'Neil
Blackburn	Fraleigh	Oostrom
(Jonquière)	Fretz	Paproski
Blais	Gérin	Pennock
Blais-Grenier (Mrs.)	Gravel	Peterson
Blenkarn	Grav	Plourde
Blouin (Mrs.)	(Bonaventure-Îles-de-	Price
Bourgault (Mrs.)	la-Madeleine)	Ravis
Bradley	Grisé	Redway
Brightwell	Gurbin	Reid
Browes (Mrs.)	Gustafson	Reimer
Cadieux	Halliday	Schellenberg
Caldwell	Hamilton	(Nanaimo-Alberni)
Cardiff	Hnatyshyn	Schellenberger
Carney (Miss)	Jardine	(Wetaskiwin)
Champagne (Mrs.)	Jepson	Scott
(Saint-Hyacinthe-Bagot)	Johnson	(Hamilton-Wentworth)
Clark	(Bonavista-Trinity-	Scowen
(Brandon-Souris)	Conception)	Shields
Clifford	Kilgour	Siddon
Clinch	Kindy	Stackhouse
Collins (Mrs.)	La Salle	Stevens
Comeau	Layton	Stewart
Cook	Lewis	Suluk
Cooper	MacDonald (Miss)	Taylor
Crombie	(Kingston and	Thacker
Crosbie	the Islands)	Toupin
(St. John's West)	Mailly (Mrs.)	Towers
Crouse	Mantha Mantha	Tupper
Darling	Mayer	Turner
Daubney	McCrossan	(Ottawa-Carleton)
de Cotret	McCuish	Vézina (Mrs.)
Della Noce	McDermid	Vincent
	McDougall (Mrs.)	White
Desjardins Dick	(St. Paul's)	Wilson
	McKenzie	(Etobicoke Centre)
Domm Ellis	McKinnon	Winegard
	McMillan	Wise
Elzinga	Minaker	Witer—114.
	Minaker	77 1101 117.

Mr. Speaker: I declare the amendment lost.

At 6.25 p.m. the House adjourned.