House of Commons

liament are more important than the bells. You drafted this motion, Mr. Speaker. You accepted the motion and the motion is now in the possession of the house and you have no right to hear anything that interferes with the discussion.

Mr. Coldwell: Mr. Speaker, I want to draw your attention-

Some hon. Members: Sit down.

Mr. McCann: Get back in your seat.

Mr. Ellis: Keep quiet over there.

Mr. Coldwell: —to the statement of Mr. Speaker Lenthall: "I am the servant of the house."

Some hon. Members: Hear, hear.

An hon. Member: Dictatorship.

Mr. Stewart (Winnipeg North): Why don't you throw away the mace?

Mr. Diefenbaker: Mr. Speaker, may I draw your attention-

Some hon. Members: Sit down.

Mr. Diefenbaker: Mr. Speaker, may I draw your attention to your own words last night, reported at page 4532 of Hansard-

Some hon. Members: Order.

Mr. Diefenbaker: Why did you change overnight? What is the reason that you changed overnight? Are you afraid today?

Mr. Rowe: What took place in the dark?

Mr. Gauthier (Portneuf): You are a very good actor; you should be on the stage.

Mr. Rowe: You would probably close the stage.

Mr. Speaker put the question as follows:

On the order under Motions, "Resuming the adjourned debate on the motion of Mr. Cameron that the statements in the Ottawa (Nanaimo), that the statements in the Ottawa Journal of May 30 and 31 are derogatory of the dignity of parliament and deserving of the censure of this house," being called, I ruled that the motion of the hon. member for Nanaimo was out of order since in my opinion the statements in the Ottawa Journal must be construed as fair and reasonable comment on the house and its proceedings

Mr. Stewart (Winnipeg North): "Garrotting parliament." Is that fair?

## Mr. Speaker:

Whereupon Mr. Drew appealed to the house from the ruling I gave.

Mr. Bell: No wonder they hang their heads in shame.

The house divided on the question: Shall the Speaker's decision be sustained? And [Mr. Drew.]

Mr. Drew: Mr. Speaker, the rights of par- the decision of the Chair was sustained on the following division:

## YEAS

## Messrs:

Langlois (Gaspe) Anderson Applewhaite Ashbourne Batten Benidickson Bennett Blackmore Blanchette Boisvert. Bonnier Boucher Bourget Brisson Brown (Essex West) Bruneau Byrne Macnaughton McCann Cameron (High Park) Campney Cannon Caron Carrick Carter Cauchon Cavers Cloutier Crestohl Dechene Decore Deschatelets Deslieres Dickey Dumas Fairey Follwell [ ] Fontaine Forgie Fraser (St. John's East) Garland Gauthier (Lake St. John) Purdy Gauthier (Nickel Belt) Gauthier (Portneuf) Gingras Gingues Goode Gour (Russell) Gourd (Chapleau) Gregg Hahn Hanna Hansell Ross Hardie Harris Hellyer Henderson Henry Hollingworth Holowach Stick Hosking Houck Howe (Port Arthur)

Huffman Hunter James Johnston (Bow River) Jutras Kirk (Shelburne-Yarmouth-Clare) Laflamme Lafontaine

Langlois (Berthier-Maskinonge-Delanaudiere)

Lapointe Lavigne Leduc (Gatineau)
Leduc (Jacques Cartier-Lasalle) Lefrancois Legare Lesage Low Lusby MacDougall MacEachen MacKenzie MacNaught

McCubbin McCulloch (Pictou) McIlraith McIvor McMillan McWilliam Mang Marler Masse Matheson Michaud

Mitchell (Sudbury) Monette Murphy (Westmorland)

Nickle Pearson Philpott Pickersgill Pinard Pommer

Power (Quebec South) Prudham

Quelch Ratelle Reinke

Richard (Ottawa East) Richard (St. Maurice-

Lafleche) Richardson Roberge Robertson Robichaud Robinson (Simcoe East)

Rochefort

St. Laurent (Quebec East) Schneider Shipley, Mrs. Simmons

Smith (Battle River-Camrose)

Stuart (Charlotte) Thibault Thomas Tucker Viau Villeneuve Weaver Weir Weselak

Winters Yuill-140.