During and after the war, Canada participated in the general trend toward the elevation of legations to embassy status. In 1943, most of its large missions abroad became embassies. Since then certain of the new missions listed above were opened as embassies, while others, such as the missions in Italy and Switzerland, were raised to the rank of embassies later.

Membership in the United Nations has increased Canada's responsibilities outside its own borders, and Canada has been represented on various organs of the United Nations from the beginning. After Canada's election, for a term, to the Security Council in September 1947, a Permanent Canadian Delegation was established in New York in January 1948, and later in the year a small office was also opened in Geneva, the European headquarters of the Organization. Both offices, now called permanent missions, have since been expanded.

In May 1952, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization established a permanent Council in Paris. Canada established a permanent delegation at that time to represent it both on the NATO Council and on the Council of the Organization for European Economic Co-operation. In addition to representation on these permanent international bodies, Canada has sent representatives to a large number of international conferences in recent years, and members of the Department have served on international committees.

The external service of Canada consists today of the Department of External Affairs in Ottawa and the following establishments abroad:

- (a) Embassies in: Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Denmark, Dominican Republic, France, The Federal Republic of Germany, Greece, Haiti, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Mexico, The Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Arab Republic, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela, Yugoslavia;
- (b) <u>Legations in</u>: Czechoslovakia, Finland, Iceland, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Poland;
- (c) <u>High Commissioners' Offices in</u>: Australia, Ceylon, Ghana, India, Malaya, New Zealand, Pakistan, Union of South Africa, United Kingdom;
- (d) <u>Commissioner's Office in</u>: Federation of West Indies (Port of Spain);
- (e) <u>Consulates General in</u>: Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, New York, New Orleans, San Francisco, Seattle, Manila (Phillipines);
- (f) <u>Consulates in</u>: Detroit, Hamburg (Germany), Sao Paulo (Brazil);
- (g) Honorary Consul General in: Reykjavik, Iceland;
- (h) Honorary Vice Consulate in: Portland, Maine;
- (i) <u>Military Mission in</u>: Berlin;