the day, before private members' hour, arrangements were made through the Parliamentary Secretary to the President of the Privy Council (Mr. Collenette), the House leader for the Conservative party, as well as the House leader for the New Democratic Party, to put through, in all remaining stages, bills S-13 and S-14. The arrangements provided for the tabling of certain documents related to those bills; they were to be tabled by the Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of State for Trade (Mr. Lachance) in due course, when they were available to him.

The difficulty, very simply, is that all the precedents of this House indicate that private members may not table documents. One could take the view that unanimous consent is adequate to overcome that problem. One could equally take the view that the Chair is responsible for upholding the precedents which have existed throughout the years. In order to avoid any confusion on that score, and in order to avoid creating difficulties for the future, perhaps the best way to proceed is to suggest that with the consent of those involved, including the already-given consent of the parliamentary secretary, rather than tabling the documents they would be appended to *Hansard* on the day on which the parliamenatry secretary is prepared to put these documents before the House.

If there is unanimous consent to this course, then we can proceed in that fashion and the procedural difficulty will be cleared up.

Mr. Baker (Nepean-Carleton): There was an arrangement made and some of us would be surprised tonight to learn about that long list of precedents. There are some of us who feel the House of Commons is empowered to declare a man to be a woman and a woman to be a man. But I guess that is not so.

The anxiety of the member for York-Peel (Mr. Stevens) was that there be a public record with respect to the undertakings given by the parliamentary secretary. I suspect that publication in the manner suggested, that is, by way of appendix to *Hansard*, would be appropriate. I think that was also in the mind of the hon. member for Winnipeg North Centre (Mr. Knowles), although he is not present now. If that is agreeable to the Parliamentary Secretary to the President of the Privy Council we could agree on this now, leaving open the right of the hon. member for Winnipeg North Centre to disagree at some later time, if he wishes. I think he will be agreeable.

Mr. Collenette: Mr. Speaker, I wish to concur in the remarks just made by the hon. member for Nepean-Carleton (Mr. Baker) and with what Your Honour has proposed. I did discuss this point with the hon. member for Burnaby (Mr. Robinson), in the absence of the hon. member for Winnipeg North Centre (Mr. Knowles), and I understand that the New Democratic Party members will agree. This is just a housekeeping matter.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): It is so agreed. So that there may be no difficulty in misinterpretation, when the

# Petroleum Administration Act

parliamentary secretary has the documents ready, the Chair will accept them and have them appended to *Hansard*.

# PETROLEUM ADMINISTRATION ACT

PETITION TO REVOKE PROCLAMATION

## Mr. Ian Waddell (Vancouver-Kingsway) moved:

That the proclamation laid before the House on Wednesday, November 12, 1980, pursuant to subsection 52(3) of the Petroleum Administration Act, as proclaimed in PC 1980-2915, be revoked.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Blaker): Pursuant to order made Friday, November 21, 1980, the House will now proceed to the taking of the deferred division on the motion (Mr. Waddell).

Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Waddell) which was negatived on the following division:

• (2200)

# (Division No. 36)

### YEAS Messrs.

Hamilton	Neil
	Nickerson
	Nielsen
	Orlikow
	Paproski Parker
	Patterson
	Rae
	Reid
	(St. Catharines)
	Riis
	Robinson
	(Burnaby)
	Sargeant
Knowles	Schellenberger
Lambert	Scott
Lawrence	(Victoria-Haliburton
MacKay	Shields
Malone	Siddon
Mayer	Speyer
Mazankowski	Stevens
McCuish	Taylor
McGrath	Thacker
McKenzie	Thomson
McKinnon	Towers
McKnight	Vankoughnet
	Waddell
	Wenman
	Wilson
	Wise
	Wright
	Young
Murta	Yurko—89.
	Lawrence MacKay Malone Mayer Mazankowski McCuish McGrath McKenzie McKinnon McKnight McMillan Miller Mitchell (Mrs.) Munro (Esquimalt-Saanich)

## NAYS

### Messrs.

Allmand	Bloomfield	Collenette
Appolloni	Bockstael	Comtois
(Mrs.)	Bossy	Corbin
Axworthy	Breau	Corriveau
Bachand	Bujold	Cosgrove
Baker	Bussières	Cousineau
(Gander-Twillingate)	Campbell	Cullen
Beauchamp-Niquet	(Miss)	Cyr
(Mrs.)	(South West Nova)	Dawson
Bégin (Miss)	Campbell	de Corneille
Berger	(LaSalle)	Demers
Blais	Chénier	Deniger
Blaker	Chrétien	Desmarais