The Address-Division

trend is clear. Our motion is intended to assert the principle of free competition, of Boucher (Chateauguayfreedom, and because the subamendment Boucher (Restigouchethat has been presented deliberately removes free competition and the supporting argument bases that removal upon socialist doctrines we shall certainly vote against the subamendment, no matter how satisfactory any other part of the subamendment might be.

Mr. Speaker: Is the house ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Question.

Some hon. Members: Six o'clock.

Mr. Speaker: Some hon. members say six o'clock and others say question.

Mr. Coldwell: I point to the clock; it is six Churchill o'clock.

Mr. Speaker: I cannot put the question at six o'clock unless I have unanimous consent.

At six o'clock the house took recess.

AFTER RECESS

The house resumed at eight o'clock.

Mr. Speaker: Is the house ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Question.

The house divided on the amendment to the amendment (Mr. Coldwell) which was negatived on the following division:

YEAS

Knowles

	Messrs:
Argue	Kno
Barnett	Lebo
Blackmore	Low
Bryson	Mac
Cameron (Nanain	no) McC
Campbell	M
Castleden	McL
Coldwell	Nich
Ellis	Nose
Fair	Patt
Gillis	Quel
Hahn	Regi
Hansell	Shav
Herridge	Stew
Holowach	No
Johnson (Kinders	ley) That
Johnston (Bow Ri	iver) Wyli
Jones	Yuil
Knight	Zapl

Leboe Low MacInnis McCullough (Moose Mountain) McLeod Nicholson Noseworthy Patterson Quelch Regier Shaw Stewart (Winnipeg North) Thatcher Wylie Yuill Zaplitny-36.

NAYS

Messrs:

Abbott Aitken, Miss Anderson Applewhaite Balcer Bell Benidickson [Mr. Drew.] Bennett (Grey North)

Bennett, Miss (Halton) Bertrand Blair Blanchette Boisvert Boivin

Bonnier Huntingdon-Laprairie) LaCroix Madawaska) Bourget Bourque Breton Brisson Brooks Bruneau Buchanan Byrne Campney Cannon Cardiff Cardin Caron Carter Casselman Cavers Chevrier Claxton Cloutier Coyle Crestohl Dechene Decore Demers Deschatelets Deslieres Dickey Dinsdale Drew Dumas Enfield Fairclough, Mrs. Fairey Ferguson Fleming Forgie Fraser (Peterborough) Fraser (St. John's East) Prudham Fulton Garland Gauthier (Lake St. John) Gauthier (Portneuf) Girard Goode Gour (Russell) Green Habel Hamilton Hanna Hardie Harkness Harris Healv Hees Hellyer Henderson Henry Hodgson Hosking Houck Howe (Port Arthur) Howe (Wellington-Huron) Huffman Jutras Kickham Kirk (Antigonish-Guysborough) Wood-156.

Kirk (Shelburne-Yarmouth-Clare) Lafontaine Lapointe Leduc Legare Lennard Lusby Macdonnell (Greenwood) MacDougall MacEachen MacLean MacNaught McCann McCulloch (Pictou) McGregor McIlraith McIvor McMillan Maltais Martin Masse Matheson Mennier Michaud Michener Mitchell (London) Mitchell (Sudbury) Monette Monteith Montgomery Murphy (Westmorland) Nesbitt Nickle Pearkes Perron Philpott **Pickersgill** Pommer Poulin Power (Quebec South) Proudfoot Ratelle Richard (Ottawa East) Richard (St. Maurice-Lafleche) Robertson Robichaud Robinson (Bruce) Robinson (Simcoe East) Rouleau St. Laurent Schneider Shipley, Mrs. Simmons Small Smith Stanton Starr Stuart (Charlotte) Studer Thibault Trainor Tustin Villeneuve Weaver Weir Weselak White (Hastings-Frontenac) White (Middlesex East) White (Waterloo South)

Mr. Knowles: Mr. Speaker, I rise on a point of order. I do not ask you to rule on this point