

INTRODUCTION TO SECOND PART.

THE ancien regime having passed away, the first duty of the King's Lieutenants in Canada was to provide for the new order of things, and nobly did they bend themselves to the task before them.

The Treaty of Paris had hardly been signed before General Murray, at the instance of the clergy of Quebec, had referred to the British Cabinet for instructions as to the position of the Roman Catholic Church in Canada. The See of Quebec was vacant, and peace having been established, it became necessary to fill the vacancy; but it was by no means clear how this could be done. Hence arose the necessity for dealing at once with the Church question. The British Ministry lost no time in submitting to the law officers of the Crown the whole case as presented to them by General Murray, and, with a liberality which did them credit, the law officers expressed the opinion that the Roman Catholic subjects of the King in Canada were not liable to the disabilities imposed by statutory enactment on their co-religionists in Great Britain.

From this time until the passing of the Act of 1774, the question of the future Government of Canada was constantly engaging the attention of the leading lawyers of Britain.

Norton, Yorke, deGrey, Marriott, Wedderburn, Thurlow, men who successively filled the highest legal positions in Great Britain, devoted their best energies to the solution of the difficulties which were encountered in framing a scheme of government for the new Colony, and so well did they succeed, that when, in 1775, emissaries sent by the Congress of the American States came to Canada to induce the Canadians to throw off their allegiance, they found the new Colony without a single cause of complaint, and returned utterly discomfited to report the failure of their attempt.

In after years as population increased, and conflicting interests developed, further attempts were made to adapt the Government to the altered circumstances of the people, and in 1791 the country was divided into two Provinces, and two separate Governments were established.